We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast n Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scoobys Red Hots III

Scoobys Red Hots III
1020 E North Ave 28W, West Chicago, IL 60185
630-231-4848
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in West Chicago
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fast n Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I've been here many times, Scooby's is an institution on North Ave in West Chicago. Great little place for Hot dogs, Burgers, Pizza puffs and much more. Fries are huge but expensive - they are only potatoes. Staff behind counter is very freindly and they have a drive through. The decor in the small eat-in area is pure chicago area kitsch and a lot of fun. When you need a fast food fix this is the place, not one of the big chains.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Scooby's has awesome fries. Hot dogs are good. Great chicken sandwich (but a little expensive). And one of the few places to serve Green River.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun place for a burger, a dog, whatever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a place to bring your camera while you enjoy a quick Chicago Style Hot Dog. The decor in this small building is pure 60s rock with color and a mirrored ceiling. Movies have been made at this diner style fast food place on the corner near one of the few drive-in movie theaters left in the country. Food is good, but don't use the drive-in! Go inside and check out the decor. Your smartphone camera app will be put to good use.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For a great dog or burger west on North Avenue, this is it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotdogs are bigger than the buns and the relishes on the dog are fresh and tasty. Savory fries complement your meal together with a delicious rootbeer. It is very convenient as there is a drive through. they take major credit cards. Joe Scooby is my new best friend. He made me and my two children smile and made us a great meal when we were tired, thirsty and hot. Thanks Murph!!! We will be back and we won't forget. xo Ms. Murph in River Forest.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wish I could got there everyday!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is always a favorite for our family! Food is amazing! You would think you could not say much about a hot dog but, wow! This place is always hopping, great times for family and friends! They have been inducted into the Veinna Beef hall of fame! Their meatball sandwiches are incredible! HUGE portions! Their fries are legendary!! We go there on a perfect summer day with the family and sit outside, great music and staff! It is the perfect "I don't feel like cooking" place to go night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoobys Red Hots III also viewed

West Chicago, DuPage County
West Chicago, DuPage County
 
West Chicago, DuPage County
West Chicago, DuPage County
 

Been to Scoobys Red Hots III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scoobys Red Hots III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.