We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Chicago Hot Dog Joint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scoobys Red Hots III

Scoobys Red Hots III
1020 E North Ave 28W, West Chicago, IL 60185
630-231-4848
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 58 restaurants in West Chicago
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Good Chicago Hot Dog Joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Scooby's is a rock solid hot dog joint in the Chicago tradition. Their fires are excellent and happen to bring the rest of the menu up a notch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    13
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“love the fries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

this is a great place to get fresh cut fries. The hot dogs are Yum and so is everything else. I recommend fries and a chocolate shake!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hot Dog and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We absolutely love the hot dogs and their home cut fries! Tried an italian beef the last time and found that to be excellent too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Gotta Love It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Scooby's has character and some item specialties like a Green River milkshake. Fresh cut fries with cheese are worth every calorie.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take it from a New Yorker who knows hot dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I'm out here in the Midwest on business this week and my client takes me to this awesome Hot Dog place in West Chicago. Now if I could just talk Scooby into bringing his brand of 'hot dog heaven' to my native state of New York, I'm sure I could find employees who know how to serve 'em up fast; like a New York minute. That seems to be the rub against Scooby's, but in my opinion, definitely worth the wait. To be honest and fair to Scooby, we didn't actually wait that long. I tell you what was long-er; that's the hot dog itself. Of course, it's loaded with all the Chi-town toppings including really green relish, but this dog comes in at 7 inches versus 6 inches at other joynts (I'm told). Being from NY I didn't know they sometimes call 'em red hots here and in my continuing hot dog education, it was pointed out to me that these dogs are custom made for Scooby by a well-known company called Vienna. Anyway, looking forward to coming back here on business in a couple months and my next visit to Scooby's.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoobys Red Hots III also viewed

West Chicago, DuPage County
West Chicago, DuPage County
 
West Chicago, DuPage County
West Chicago, DuPage County
 

Been to Scoobys Red Hots III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scoobys Red Hots III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.