We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TLC for Navy families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 Northpoint Boulevard, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TLC for Navy families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were absolutely wowed by the staff at the Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee. Our son graduated from Navy Basic Training the day before Thanksgiving (hardly convenient), and the staff was so helpful. We arrived at 2am the morning of the ceremony and they assisted us with logistics as well as recommendations for the requisite steak dinner for the new sailor after the ceremony. Thank-you so much for a lovely room and your wonderful staff.

Room Tip: We requested the courtyard view and were very happy with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Barbara T,

Thank you for choosing us! We are so humbled by your generous comments and honored to serve your family! We are thrilled you enjoyed our refreshing new guest rooms and our hospitality from the heart!

On behalf of our entire Courtyard Crew, we wish all the best to your family and congratulate your new Navy Grad!

Warmest holiday wishes,
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    59
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
155
13
12
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

After checking out many hotels in the area for the guests for my daughters wedding, we selected the Courtyard. Not only were they the most reasonably priced, the experience from beginning to end was amazing. I have over 10 years of event planning, so I do know a few things about what can make or break an event.

I had quick responses to every question I threw at them.

The guest rooms were immaculate and so comfortable! When my daughter and her new husband entered their suite, she teared up (happy tears)...the staff sprinkled rose petals, had chocolate and a few other surprises.

My cousins from out of town even asked what type of mattress it was because it was so comfortable!

The staff was so gracious, friendly and truly seemed to love what they did. From holding our bags because we came a little early,to finding us a cab, I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a room.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff at the Marriott Courtyard Gurnee, they will get you what you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Debbie K and family,

What else is there to say except, thank you, thank you, and thank you! Our team could not have found more joy in taking care of you and your family. It is people like you that make our positions so rewarding.

We wish you and the newlyweds all the best for a beautiful life.

Warmest regards,
Christine and the Courtyard Crew

PS: Any other daughters? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I switched to this hotel at the last minute as one of my associates could not get into the one we had initially reserved (the Springhill Suites down the street). The staff was very helpful and got me setup quickly. Bonus points to them for asking what floor would be best - I did not really care but wanted something quiet, so they put me on the top floor. The whole hotel felt very up to date and the room was very clean. It would have been nice if there was a bit more coffee available in the room but that is not really a problem. Service in their cafe was a bit slow and the food was mediocre. If you have a car there are several better options in the vicinity. Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear ptdrake,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your great experience. I'm thrilled you enjoyed the many new updates to the hotel, including our refreshing new rooms; as well as the hospitality you received from our team. Please know, that while staying at any Marriott property, if you need additional amenities, such as coffee, simply call the front desk and we will be happy do deliver upon your request. I would also like to thank you for your valuable feedback for our Bistro. We will certainly use this to help enhance future experiences.

On behalf of the entire Courtyard Crew, we thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Christine

PS: We'll keep your request of a quiet room on file for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel. It is about 10 minutes from the Navy graduation base. The rooms are extremely clean the bed and pillows were so comfortable and believe me with herniated discs I woke up refreshed no discomfort whatsoever. The staff from the ladies who clean the rooms to the front desk, restaurant service breakfast and dinner were great. They were courteous and professional and made me feel like I was important. You can't go wrong staying at this hotel. You also have Walmart and many other stores and restaurants in walking distance if you don't want to drive your car.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Brenda D,

You ARE important to us! Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know about our refreshing new rooms and beds! We're thrilled you enjoyed our clean, comfy and friendly hotel.....TWICE!

We congratulate you on your Navy grads and hope to see you again!

Warmest regards,
Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here after reading reviews online and the amenities offered; we could not have made a better choice in that price category.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the staff who made us feel more like we were staying in a boutique hotel than in a big corporate place.
The staff took great care to learn our individual names, remembered our preferences, had fantastic suggestions for a celebratory lunch (AHA Sushi restaurant) and treated us like family.

Our stay here made our occasion, our son's Navy Boot Camp graduation, even more special.
That was very unexpected and wonderful.
Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear 812michaelj812,

Wow! What a review! We are so humbled and honored to serve you. Thank you, from the bottom of our hearts, for choosing us as your home away from home!

We congratulate your new Navy grad and wish your family all the best.

Warmest regards,
Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor for my son's graduation from Great Lakes naval boot camp. The reviews were right on! Superb staff and a very accomodating place to stay.First of all location is great, near highway and set in the middle of Fountain Square shopping area with many fast food places and a Walmart. Secondly the staff-especially Helen- makes you feel like "old friends." Helen understands how important Navy boot camp graduation is to the families and makes a big deal out of our new sailors. Next, the suites are nice, newly appointed and very clean,modern. I was glad I had the suite my new sailor got out of his uniform and took a long nap on the couch.My only "little" complaint was their were four of us sharing the beds and I wish they had been queens instead of doubles-little tight.The lobby area is very open ,modern with a nice fireplace.The restaurant(with Starbuck's coffee) and bar is a very relaxing area with private booths with T.V.s in them.Lastly-TAKE THE SHUTTLE to graduation so easy-dropped us of at the gate on base while all the cars are in line.Thanks for the wonderful stay. GO NAVY.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear PMB1016,

Congratulations on your new Navy Grad! Thank you so very much for the fantastic review of our service and hospitality! You made Helen's day! We're thrilled you enjoyed our hospitality from the heart, location and convenient shuttle to the base. Friday is our favorite day of the week and Yes, GO NAVY!!

We hope to be delighted with your visit again.

Warmest regards,
Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Rooms and Service were excellent. The Staff was very friendly and took care of presonal requests. Breakfast was superb. The location offers various opportunities like restaurants, which you can reach by foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Christian B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your fantastic experience with other business travelers! We are honored to help you thrive while on the road! We are happy to personalize your visits, please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make you more comfortable and feel at home.

Warmest regards,
Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 3800 Northpoint Boulevard, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Courtyard Waukegan
Waukegan Marriott
Waukegan Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.