We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Navy Graduation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 Northpoint Boulevard, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Stockton
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Navy Graduation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. They are very close to a Starbucks and they have a shuttle (Not free but cheap) to the graduation. The beds very very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. The staff went above and beyond. The sofa bed we planned on having our girls sleep on was a little too small for the size of our girls (teenagers) and they quickly brought us a roll away. I am sure there were cheaper hotels but we were very happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Zabe123,

We couldn't ask for more than a perfect score! Thank you so much for your generous feedback! Your comments really inspire our team to continue delivering exceptional hospitality!
Just in case you missed it, we also serve Starbucks right in our Bistro 24hrs a day. Between our Bistro and the Starbucks location just outside the hotel, the Courtyard will make sure you get your much needed cup of Joe!

A heartfelt congratulations to your new Navy grad from our Courtyard Crew!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    54
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
138
13
12
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great staff helped to make my stay during my son's graduation from the Navy. It was an emotional time for me but their kindness helped me through it. Location was great. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear J I,

On behalf of the entire Courtyard Crew we congratulate you on your new Navy Grad. and thank you for a perfect score! We understand how emotional this time is for you and we really work hard to make your visit as safe, easy and fun as possible!

All our best to your new grad, and thank you again for your generous comments to motivate our team!

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is a great location for the Gurnee area. The rooms were clean. Overall very good hotel. The lobby and pool area were great. Would love to see the rooms updated soon! Would also be nice to have some sort of night reception for guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Travel from Chicago,

Thank you so much for choosing us as your home away from home while in Waukegan! We really appreciate your taking the time to let other travelers know what a great place the Courtyard is to stay!
I am happy to let you know that in January, all of 149 rooms will be remodeled. Including new beds, decor, and more! We are all very excited and we hope you'll get the opportunity to come check us out!

Thank you again and safe travels,

Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

What an amazing stay. My in-laws and I had booked rooms at another hotel for Thursday 8/30 thru Saturday 9/1. After one night at the other hotel I was ready to run. That Friday of graduation while my sailor was getting his things ready for leave I went to the Courtyard to ask to see a room and inquire about the available rates. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful willing to answer my questions, they were incredibly polite and showed me a room on the ground floor. Needless to say I booked the room immediately and stayed there until Tuesday morning. The room are spotless, the cleaning crew is amazing and so friendly and the front desk staff made navigating through Waukegan a breeze. I am going back and staying here in October because there is no need to look anywhere else.

Room Tip: second floor balcony nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Amelly M,

Our team is thrilled that we were able make your journey from New Jersey a pleasant one as well as help you navigate your Waukegan visit! It's not easy being in a place you're not familiar with and we are honored to serve our military families!

Thank you for sharing your experience with other families so they can trust that we will take good care of them too!

I have my calendar flagged for your return in October and I'm looking forward to thanking you in person!

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have to tell you that this place was so nice and the entire staff made me feel at home and took care of every need. If you are a Navy family and are going to look for a place to stay this is a wonderful option. After graduation we came back to the hotel with our new sailor. The courtyard is a relaxing and great place to just sit and talk. The bistro inside serves good food and made sure that we were well taken care of. It was like sitting in our home. We could just relax and talk or we could take the train to downtown Chicago. They provided a shuttle to the graduation and got us there in plenty of time to enjoy the ceremony. It is close by and the morning of graduation they had three or four shuttles to make sure all the families were taken care of and nobody had to worry about parking at the base. After graduation we were taken back to the hotel by the cab company that they recommended. I never felt like we were overcharged and the cab company took very good care of us. The rooms are nice not overdone but the bed was comfortable and was clean. The price was good and we felt like we got a great deal for the time that we stayed there. I would highly recommend this hotel to whomever is thinking about staying there.

Room Tip: If you enjoy sitting outside I would get courtyard side room on the lower level. It is so nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Judi D,

Congratulations on your new Navy Grad!!

On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your phenomenal review. Your review has placed us as the number one hotel in Waukegan on Trip Advisor! We are now ranked #1 out of 16 in Waukegan and we can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your great experience with other travelers!! I will also pass on your generous feedback to Flash Cab, they are the company that provides our shuttle service for graduation.

Thank you again very much for taking the time to help us to reach that number one spot! We are proud, humbled and honored to serve you!

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The General Manager and her staff put on one heck of a show on Wednesday. It was the first game of the NFL season and they did it up right!! Thanks for taking such good care of me while i stayed in Gurnee. It sure makes you feel good when you are on the road traveling and you walk into a hotel to see a nice smile. With that smile comes great customer service. Keep it up you guys and keep having fun!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Wiley C,

I can't thank you enough for such a rave review! The team is very proud! We are thrilled you enjoyed our Football Kick-off party and you can look forward to our Football parties every Thursday night until the, “Big Game!"

There was a contest for all Courtyards - whichever Courtyard had the best kick-off party, would win a big team party with a visit from the VP of Courtyard Brand Marketing. If we win, YOU'RE INVITED!! :)

We look forward to your return visit!

Heartfelt thanks,
Christine and the Courtyard Crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

First floor courtyard rooms were excellent. Conveniences available were wonderful too. If it wasn't provided hotel customer services went the extra mile to get it for you. Room was spotless without over powering chemical cleaning smells. Bedding changed on demand and towels provided fresh every day, smelled fresh from the laundry. Tripadvisor rates this hotel three stars out of five. Customers rate it four and a half stars out of five. That's due to the awesome management and outstanding customer service. I changed our reservations from another hotel and was not disappointed. Courtyard Marriott was located in a safe well lit location with plenty of shops and places of entertainment.

Room Tip: If you want courtyard access ask for it. If you want anything ask for it...this hotel is managed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Coventry,

Thank you for posting your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Our team is proud that we were able to, "Go the distance" for you! Your generous feedback is very much appreciated. We were thrilled that you used the verbiage from our incentive program, "Go the Extra Mile!" We take that seriously and are happy to have done this for you!

On behalf of the whole Courtyard Crew, we thank you!

Safe travels,

Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 3800 Northpoint Boulevard, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waukegan
#1 Business Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Courtyard Waukegan
Waukegan Marriott
Waukegan Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.