We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So gross we refused to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 S Waukegan Road, Waukegan, IL 60085   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“So gross we refused to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Got to the hotel and something told me to check the room prior to unloading the car....WOW IT SMELLED HORRIBLE like smoke! Like someone had been smoking for weeks in the room!! This was of course a non-smoking designated room. Front desk had could not give is a different room and refused to refund our money. Run don't walk from this hotel. Fortunately hotels . com was willing to refund us because of the loyalty we have had towards them. Moved to the Courtyard Marriott down the street and will sleep well tonight!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy D, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
To Our Valued Guest,

Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Regards,
Amy Dow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
7
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I loved our room a lot it was very clean, spacious, felt like home! The staff are very friendly and there are good amenities. I only wish there was a pool. I stayed here for my husbands graduation from Navy boot camp, they gave us a free ride to the ceremony. I loved that we didn't even pay an arm and a leg. This hotel was one of the best part of my trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robie S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Sheila K:

Thank you so much for the FIVE STAR review. The entire team at the Candlewood Suites- Waukegan are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Waukegan, IL area.

Best regards,
Robie Sustayta
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town, ME
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

My first stay at a Candlewood and my experience here in Waukegan will make me try them again. Clean room, friendly people, and good price. A suite was nice, small kitchen area in room allows prep of simple meals.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robie S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Linda K:

Thank you for the five star review. we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Candlewood Suites / Waukegan, IL.

Best regards,
Robie Sustayta
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwater, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just returned from a 3-night stay @ Candlewood Suites in their 1-bedroom suite. Excellent accommodations: roomy, updated, quiet, good amenities. Customer service was excellent: friendly and helpful. Hotel is in close proximity to several restaurants and stores. When in the area, we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Complimentary late checkout is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robie S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear SpringwaterH0use:

Thank you for the wonderful review on the Candlewood Suites/Waukegan, IL. I'm thrilled you were pleased with our accommodations and customer service.

Best regards,
Robie Sustayta
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel to attend my son's graduation from Navy boot camp. The front desk employees were helpful, the proximity to the Naval base was within 9 minutes and the room exceeded my expectations for being updated, comfortable and clean. The room was actually gorgeous with a refrigerator and kitchenette. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: This hotel has a deal with local restaurants who will deliver directly to your room. I ordered from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robie S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear LoveHR:

Thank you for the wonderful review on your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites / Waukegan, IL. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in our area.

Best regards,
Robie Sustayta
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was reluctant to book our stay here because it was SUCH a good deal, but thought to take the chance based on reviews. SO glad we stayed! Our sailor and a fellow sailor was able to hang out with my husband and I in the room and it didn't feel cramped at all. With the couch and recliner and extra chairs in the room, it was comfortable. The bar was big enough to put our Thanksgiving spread (Yes I cooked Thanksgiving dinner and hauled it 12 hours for our son!) Keep in mind there is NO oven in the rooms. But there is a full size fridge WITH icemaker, dishwasher, coffeemaker, microwave and 2 burner cooktop stove and sink. Oh yes, AND a pantry! We did booked the suite with the bedroom separated from the living area and it worked out GREAT! We didn't use the laundry room or mini gym on site BUT we did see it and was surprised on how nice it was. True, no breakfast served here BUT you have a full kitchen to make anything. Don't hesitate to stay here, the staff was wonderful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robie S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Christa D:

Thanks for the GREAT review. I'm so glad that you had the chance to experience the comfort and value that the Candlewood Suites brand offers.

Thanks for making the Candlewood Suites/Waukegan, IL your home away from home over the Thanksgiving holiday!!

Best regards,
Robie Sustayta
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to the Pleasant Praries Outlet Mall in Wisconsin. After a long afternoon of shopping on Christmas Eve, the relaxing room and friendly staff was a welcome. Nearby restaurants were closed already as it was quite late on Christmas eve (Chipotle etc.) - so we ate in the only open place in a town nearby - a Chinese buffet.

The room was large and clean with a well stocked kitchenette for food preparation. Fridge, Coffee Maker, Stove top. We just made coffee in the morning - and had our own stash of food for a small breakfast. (It was Christmas morning and everywhere was shut!) This is a pretty handy feature if you have kids!

The bathroom was spacious and clean and the bed was large and comfy. Personally I found the pillows too soft, but that's because I sleep on rock hard ones at home myself! But that's not a criticism, just an observation.

They also have a vending machine and gym and laundry which we did not use. We did however use the free wifi.

The parking is free in the hotel complex.

Definitely recommend the stay here - there's a shopping mall nearby also if you need to buy anything! But Pleasant Prarie is where the bargains are at!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor were handy as we didn't have to lug the bags too far! And the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robie S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear NMTY:

Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm pleased to hear you found our team members friendly and welcoming. Next time you’re in the Waukegan, IL area, please be our guest again.

Best regards,
Robie Sustayta
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan

Address: 1151 S Waukegan Road, Waukegan, IL 60085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Our Candlewood Suites - Waukegan/Gurnee is a 4-time Quality Excellence Award Winner. Spacious and built for comfort, each of our suites has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. You can catch up on work with an oversized executive desk with two phone lines and free high speed Internet in every room. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the cable TV, listen to your MP3 or watch movies on a VCR / DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD library at the front desk. Work off some stress in our Fitness Center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard, where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at competitive prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites Chicago - Waukegan is located just minutes from everything including: Businesses: Great Lakes Naval Training Center, Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health, Baxter, Medline, Omnicell, PCI, Uline, Yaskawa Attractions: Six Flags Great America, Gurnee Mills - Mega Mall, Ravinia Festival Grounds, Lake County Fair Grounds Universities: Rosalind Franklin University, Chicago Medical School, College of Podiatric Medicine, CLC We are proud to offer our guests free membership in Priority Club Rewards. Come and let our friendly staff help you to enjoy a truly remarkable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan Hotel Waukegan
Candlewood Suites Waukegan
Candlewood Waukegan
Waukegan Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.