We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Navy PIR Graduations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Lakehurst Road, Waukegan, IL 60085   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Winston GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel for Navy PIR Graduations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were in town to watch out son graduate from Navy bootcamp. This hotel was very close to the Great Lakes Command and offered a nice place to sleep. The hotel also offers a shuttle to the graduation!! We were in room 118 on the first floor. The back door was right off our room which made coming and going very easy. The beds were very comfortable and were queen size. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave. The bathroom was nic and big. The only down side to it was that during our stay the hotel was installing Direct TV so sometimes the viewing was not up to par. I am sure it is fine now. The only down side was we had to chase after vending machines on upper floors that did not want to take change. They did not accept credit cards so make sure you bring cash. The Wal-mart and dunkin donoughts is right nest to the hotel and it is only a mile from Sundance Saloom where Sarge holds a great Meet and Greet for Naval families. This hotel offers free breakfast but due to the early hour we needed to be at graduation we did not try it. Overall this was a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor if you want a coke at midnight ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
5
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, MI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the HI Express in Waukegan with 2other families for our weekend trip to Six Flags Great America. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were treated with exceptional customer service. The Front Desk staff were extremely helpful and kind, and went out of their way to help us with our evening meal accomodations. Our room was tastefully decorated and very clean. The hotel had just installed Direct TV which was another plus. The complimentary breakfast was quite abundant and had many choices. The pool is small but we overlooked that because everything else was so great. It was a quiet hotel even though they were booked with many families. The business center was small but had all of the equipment necessary. Overall, I would give this hotel an A for location, cleanliness, and amenities. I would give them an A+ on their employees and their friendly and helpful attitudes. Kate at the desk was extremely helpful and pleasant and should be recognized for her outstanding customer service skills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Pros:
Staff pleasant despite annoying teen age soccer teams (I was with one of them)
Bed is comfortable
Pool is nice

Cons:
No washer/dryer
Worst breakfast and coffee ever, see sheraton or marriott for a cheap but much better b-fast
Hot tub out of order
Closet sized business center with one pc
Construction or storage in lobby?
Very bad lobby and room coffee and no tea or chocolate
Two queen bed room is small
Questionable quality bathroom remodel
Next door bowling alley is scary at night

Room Tip: Top floors away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Ne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Second time staying here and will stay again.Hotel is clean, staff friendly. Six flags is only 4 miles away. Lots of dining options close to hotel and also a walmart. Bowling located right behind hotel. 24 hour McDonalds within walking distance. Room was clean and beds were super comfortable with a soft and firm pillow. Room has a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. Nice pool area but hot tub was out of order when we stayed. The front desk did inform us the hot tub was out of order and there were also plenty of signs stating that-was nice to be informed right up front. My husband used the fitness center every morning. Breakfast was excellent-different choices each morning. Had scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy one day. Cheese omelets one day and ham, omelets with peppers & onions the next. They also have a cool pancake machine that makes fresh pancakes. No waffle machine. Yogurt, fruit, cereal, oatmeal.
No complaints about this great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Great Lakes Navy base which is about a 10-minute ride away. No complaints at all. It is located right next to a shopping center, in a nice neighborhood. Hotel was very nice. Queen room was quite large and clean. Staff was very friendly and professional. The breakfast buffet was small but had a nice selection of food. There are lots of fast food and sit-down restaurants, as well as stores (Home Depot, Wal Mart,etc.) in the area.

I would definitely stay here again. We flew into O'Hare Airport - about a 45-minute ride to the hotel, with no traffic but traffic in Chicago can be extremely heavy at times, so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Book early. Hotels in this area sell out quickly if there are any events going on at the navy base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a smaller HIE but it's newer and nicely balanced. We stayed in an oversized queen room. It was probably the biggest room we have seen. Lots of space and super clean. Breakfast was nice with eggs biscuits and gravy cereal... yogert juice and the breakfast room was spacious. Front desk was friendly. We went to great America and it was an easy shot to get there. Overall architecture great place to stay highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel staff was hospitable, when I was charged in error for local calls, the staff called me immediately to explain and correct the error. Also the staff person stated she would fax me a corrected statement. My room was updated and clean and early check-in was not a problem. I would suggest more fruit for the breakfast. The location was great, easy access to shopping(walmart, eateries,bowling and Gurnee Mills, Great America)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan

Address: 611 Lakehurst Road, Waukegan, IL 60085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Waukegan, Illinois is near Six Flags Great America and Great Lakes Naval Base.Our Waukegan hotel provides premium amenities and an ideal location off I-94 near the Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall, the Greenbelt Forest Preserve and the scenic Illinois State Beach Park. Your family will enjoy a comfortable stay at our Waukegan hotel near Six Flags Great America, one of the largest theme parks in the US. Our hotel in Waukegan also offers quick access to many other area attractions, like the Rink-Side Family Entertainment Center, Russell Military Museum and the Wildlife Discovery Center. Downtown Chicago is just 45 miles from our Waukegan hotel. Business travelers looking for lodging in Waukegan will be pleased by our Waukegan, IL accommodations, located near Amhurst and North Point Industrial Park and area businesses including CDW, Abbott, Baxter, Akzo Nobel and HSBC. Take advantage of our business services, which include three large meeting rooms, catering available. 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience. During your stay at our smoke-free hotel near Six Flags be sure to enjoy the indoor pool, relaxing whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Waukegan hotel room deals and start planning your trip to the Great Lakes region today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Waukegan
Holiday Inn Express Waukegan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.