We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable, but no shuttle to Six Flags” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Fountain Square Place, Waukegan, IL 60085   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Clean, affordable, but no shuttle to Six Flags”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I brought the wife and 2 kids to Six Flags and to my dismay at check-in, this hotel did not have a shuttle to SF! With parking difficult at SF on the 4th of July weekend, this was an oversight on my part.

The hotel is very clean, but the room (king + sofa bed) was rather small. It also did not have a bath, just a shower.

The pool on the ground floor is tiny as well. When we went, there were 15 people in the water and it was cramped.

Continental breakfast was free, but the dining room was crowded.

Wifi was free and fast at about 3 Mbps.

All in all, not bad for the sub-$100 price.

Green Features: They do not launder daily, unless requested. It does appear they care about the environment.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. I’m sorry for your disappointment regarding transportation, but I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our ample breakfast and free internet. I’m glad you found us to be a good value and we hope to see your family again the next time you travel to the area.

Best,
Adam Lopez, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    51
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
103
19
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just wanted to say I stayed here for a week. And it was great the staff greeted me every time I walked by the front desk. And the Cleaning crew is great. The room was very large and I really like the way the bathroom and shower room were done separate.. The internet is okay they have a ethernet port in the room. makes a big difference they also offer faster internet that supports streaming. if your Gold member its free. the breakfast is good. will stay here again if i am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are glad you stayed with us and appreciate your business. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our clean spacious room, ample breakfast and internet. Your feedback serves as encouragement to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Adam Lopez, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at this property for one night before my son's graduation from Navy boot camp. It is a new Marriott property, quite clean, well managed, and set up nicely for business and leisure travelers: plenty of outlets for charging your electronics, free WiFi, and good lighting. Staff is pleasant and helpful. There is a bar and beer, wine, soft drinks and snacks are available for purchase in the mini-market. And,there is a 24 hour Walmart across the street if you are inclined to do more extensive shopping (or want to pay less for your snacks.) It is an easy 10 minute drive to Great Lakes Navy base. I did not explore the area, but the map shows that Illinois Beach State Park is nearby, as are Six Flags, Hurricane Harbor, and an outlet mall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Deborah,

Thanks for your review and recommendation. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we deliver. Your feedback provides us motivation for our team. Congratulations on your son's graduation; please come see us again!

Best,
Adam Lopez, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I have been traveling to this hotel for business, and have stayed in three different rooms. Unfortunately, this is a new, modern hotel with a great layout that has already fallen way behind in maintenance. Each room has had carpet, couch, pillow and comforter stains and torn up blinds. One had an awful smell in the closet and missing lights on the desk. I love the layout and the decor of the rooms, and the breakfast is great as far as continentals go. Service has been ok. The manager changed my room after the toilet started constantly running, and the staff is courteous. On my latest trip, they messed up my reservation dates and at 3am, they would not give me a room. I will be staying elsewhere for future trips to the area. The stains are the deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write. I appreciate you acknowledging our friendly staff, great breakfast and modern décor. I’m sorry we fell short of providing you with an exceptional stay. I will share your feedback regarding the maintenance of our rooms with the staff to heighten our awareness of such issues. We value you as our guest, and hope to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Short stay, could not get into Courtyard, stayed here - pleasantly surprised at room layout, quality, overall hotel very clean, including workout room. Nice work area for pounding out emails, client calls. Staff friendly and helpful. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear John: Thank you for your kind review, we’re glad you got a chance to stay at our location for this trip. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Adam Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooner State
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We are Marriott Gold members and choose SpringHill Suites whenever we can because the layout of the rooms works well for our family and, up to this point, every one we have stayed in has been very clean and well-maintained. Unfortunately, this SpringHill Suites did not meet those expectations. Based on our experience with two rooms, I am confused as to how this hotel is rated so highly.

We checked in at 2 a.m. after a very long day of driving. If it hadn't been so late, we would have checked out and found a different hotel. Both of our rooms had heavily soiled and stained carpet and the sofas in both rooms were stained. The walls were dirty, as well. The shades in both rooms were ripped to shreds. One of the rooms had a very strong "sour" smell. At the end of the bed in the other room, there was large stain with food (or something...I didn't want to look very closely) still stuck to it. The shower in that room had red, slimy mold in two of the corners. Something had been spilled in one of the refrigerators and had been left so long that it had dried. It is not an understatement to say the rooms were disgusting.

I asked to speak to a manager the morning we checked out but there was not one on site. Long story short, after a week and calling the Gold Customer Service line twice, I finally received an email from the manager saying they were crediting points back to our account. We had used points/free night certificates for the two rooms and were credited points for one room.

On the plus side, the front desk staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate your continued business. We sincerely apologize for the areas that we have fallen short of meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide all guests with a rewarding stay. Please know we have addressed these issues with our staff, and have taken your comments into consideration to improve our property and overall guest experience.
We appreciate you mentioning the staff provided kind customer service. We hope you give us another opportunity when you return to Waukegan.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We first stayed here March. We were visiting our Son for his Navy Graduation. The Staff did an excellent job in informing us of everything we needed to know. Included about the graduation as well great places to Eat. This is our second visit to the Great Lakes area and again nothing but great things to say. Rooms are always clean, beds are amazing, nice sitting area, places to eat close by and a starbucks 1 minute away. Naval base about 10-15 mins away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
michaeleds,
Sincere thanks for sharing your experience at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. We appreciate your nice comments regarding our staff's excellence in service and the comfort of our accommodations, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay while attending your son's Navy Graduation. Please plan to visit us again should your travels bring you back to the area. Thank you again!

Kind regards,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 4101 Fountain Square Place, Waukegan, IL 60085
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Springhill Suites Waukegan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.