We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant staff with nice accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Fountain Square Place, Waukegan, IL 60085   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant staff with nice accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times on business. The hotel is always clean and comfortable. The staff is pleasant, warm, and full of smiles. The manager, Christine takes the time to greet guests and models high expectations for exemplary service for those around her. So, you can quickly see why it's a great place to stay! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I look forward to my next visit with them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Betsee,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. We appreciate your continued business and kind comments about our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. I’ll be certain to recognize Christine with a special commendation for her exemplary customer service and hospitality. We value you as our guest and look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for writing and sharing your high recommendations of our great hotel.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    51
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
103
19
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very good experience! Was in my comfort zone after bad experience elsewhere the night before. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, staff friendly and professional, excellent continental breakfast, nice lounge seating area. Rooms were modern decor, very functional with comfy sofa, separate desk area with highspeed tech connections, large flat TV swivels, separate toilet area from shower. Big closet. Reading light on headboard. Mini fridge, micro and coffee maker. Overall was very satisfied and left feeling rested. Convenient to navy base and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Mary Ann H,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, and excellent breakfast. We’re happy to have had you as our guest and we’re glad you had a satisfying stay with us. We hope to see you again soon for another visit. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Rooms were nice and big!! Microwave and small fridge in each room. Very clean! Separate sink and toilet area from the shower. Beds were soft but comfy! Shuttle to the Naval base was wonderful for graduation day. It cost $3 per person but so worth not fighting the traffic. Shuttle went the back way and we hit no traffic what-so-ever. About 10 minutes to the base and 15 to Gurnee area. More restaurants in that area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
HappyTravels919395,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our clean, comfortable and spacious accommodations. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at the Spring Hill Suites for my husband's A school graduation. The staff was extremely friendly offering advice on where to go eat and making sure that everything about my stay went smoothly. The hotel offers breakfast in the morning which is a big plus not having to go out and search for a place to eat - they have waffles, toast, cereal, eggs, yogurt, fruit, juices, tea and coffee - a nice variety of choices. The room was impeccably clean and extremely comfortable. It was a great stay and it definitely makes you want to keep staying in Marriot chain hotels. I have not had a bad experience with any Marriot I have stayed in. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Amelly M,
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while attending your husband’s school graduation. Congratulations on his success! It’s great to receive your kind comments about our clean hotel, comfortable accommodations and friendly staff. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your review and high recommendations of our great hotel.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Convenient to the Great Lakes naval base and VA hospital. The hotel was more "modern European" looking than I expected but it was comfortable. I was given a handicapped room which was quite large with two bathrooms (one with sink and toilet, one with sink and tub) so I don't know what a normal room is like. Bed was terrific. A large flat screen can be turned to face the sofa or the bed. Good lighting to read in bed, which was a treat. Complimentary breakfast was adequate and served from 6am to 10am.The room had a microwave, refrigerator and coffemaker. Front desk had a lengthy list of suggested restaurants for which you need a car and they were very accommodating when I needed to print out lengthy reports on the computer in the lobby. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
swimmom1dc,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our comfortable accommodations and helpful staff. We’re happy to have had you as our guest and hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My first experience staying at a Springhill Suites and I wasn't disappointed. Visiting the area for Navy Boot Camp graduation and the property is very convenient to Great Lakes Naval Academy, with many amenities close-by. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and even had a great hand-out of information about the Naval Academy - much more than friends received from the motel on base. Great free breakfast - above average "standard" fare, with good quality yogurt and fruit options, not old dried out pastries.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Wink27,
We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed your first stay at a SpringHill Suites. We appreciate you taking a moment to share your kind comments about our staff’s excellence in hospitality and our great breakfast selection. We hope you’ll return for another visit soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamond, oh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice property set back off the road but near enough to a good choice of restaurants, gas stations, and a variety of stores including a Wal-Mart within walking distance. All of these shops are newer in a recently developed area. This property is also within walking distance to the Sundance Saloon & and if you are flying in for Navy PIR and will not be renting a car, this is very convenient to attend the Meet & Greet on Thursday evening. The staff was very helpful & friendly. They helped with scheduling taxis & recommending restaurants, travel routes & the best ways to travel into Chicago within the time constraints we had. The room was spacious, comfortable & clean. The later check out at 12 p.m. is a bonus for families who wish to meet their loved ones flying out of Midway or Ohare in the wee hours of the morning. You did not feel rushed to leave & had some time to catch a few hours of rest before checking out. Definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
phoenixfarm86,
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear of your pleasant stay with us and your appreciation for our helpful staff. We’re glad our convenient location and comfortable accommodations was well suited for your travel needs. We appreciate your recommendations of our great hotel to future travelers, and hope we see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 4101 Fountain Square Place, Waukegan, IL 60085
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Springhill Suites Waukegan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.