We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Rooms, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Fountain Square Place, Waukegan, IL 60085   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Gales Ferry, CT
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Rooms, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at Spring Hill Suites Waukegan, IL for 4 nights while on a business trip. Very comfortable rooms that are well laid out. Good work area with several plugs, ethernet connectors and cable, as well as free wireless that wotked well.. Small refrigerator and microwave. Nice amenities for an extended stay. Modern lobby, with bar at night. Very friendly front desk staff with good recommendations for restaurants. They even had printed directions and discount coupons available. The only downer was the inadequate area and layout for breakfast. Lines did not move because of poor layout, ie. two toasters, waffle maker, all jammed together with people waiting for items blocking access to everything else. Orange juice machine out of service two mornings, Food was the usual, free hotel breakfast items, but hard to get to, as were utensils, condiments, etc. The Fountain Square area the hotel is located in has a lot of stores and restaurants, many within walking distance if it isn't 17 degrees like it was when I was there in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
oompahdave,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear from you and learn of your pleasant stay with us. I'm glad you liked our comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I hope you were able to enjoy some of our great restaurants in our surrounding area. I apologize for the crowded breakfast area, we will review our layout and do our best to make some improvements. Your feedback is important to me, so I'm glad you brought this to my attention. We hope you'll come and visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Waukegan.
Sincerely,
Adam A. Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    44
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
92
18
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When walking into the hotel, you will immediately see how modern the hotel was designed. The rooms were very spacious and modern. The toilet and shower area are separate, which allowed both of us to get ready at the same time in the morning, but I could see how some guests might see this as a negative aspect of the rooms. There was a fridge and a microwave in the room, which is always nice.
I found the staff to be mostly helpful. The lady working the complimentary breakfast seemed more occupied with her cell phone and eating the breakfast food from the buffet. In the short time that we sat at the bar eating our breakfast, several guests had to poke their head into the room behind the buffet to ask the worker for more eggs, waffle batter, and sausage. It was disappointing seeing the staff talking on their cell phones and eating the food before the guests and not even restocking it. On the other hand, the young gentleman working the front desk was pleasant on the phone as well as throughout the check-in process. He even recommended two outlet malls that are in the area--I would recommend both of them to anyone visiting the area! Six Flags is also fairly close to the hotel.
Overall, it was a decent and modern Marriott.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the elevators because they are incredibly loud--especially for the hotel seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
hvaskjer003,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites. We're glad you liked our modern hotel and spacious suites. I appreciate your feedback about the cell phone usage and will remind our staff that they are only to be used on personal time. I'm glad you had a good time shopping and visiting our area. We hope you'll come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wow, what a refreshing hotel! Modern, clean, lots of great amenities. Good selection of retail and restaurants nearby, too. Easy access to the highway. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
KNichols528,
Thank you for staying with us and writing a very kind review. We're glad you chose to stay with us, and we're pleased you enjoyed your visit. Please plan to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

In town from Boston for son's Navy graduation on Nov 18th.
Stayed a week.
Great rooms. Friendly , Help full desk clerk.
Price was right.
Free breakfast was very help full as far as saving time.
In good spot near mall and highways.
Nothing super fancy but well done.
Bartender at lobby bar a good egg.
Watched Patriots crush Jets on Thanksgiving with her.
Maybe Bears again someday.
Thanks , Loved Chicago.

Room Tip: all good, all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
dopysteve,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your visit with us at SpringHill Suites. We're glad you chose to stay with us for your son's graduation, and we wish him well in all of his future endeavors. I'm glad you liked our hotel and especially enjoyed the lounge area with our exceptionally friendly bartender. Please visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. We look forward to your return.

For all viewers: Our Escape bar will be closed on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and New Years Day. Thanks!

Adam A. Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was in the area visiting family and stayed for three days. The rooms are very spacious . I love the modern look of the hotel. The hotel is in a prime location with everything just minutes away. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Heidi P,
Thank you for writing a review. We're pleased you stay with us at SpringHill Suites while visiting family, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you liked our modern look, spacious rooms, and great location. We hope you will be back soon.
Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at this property for 4 nights for a Business Trip. It had just what I needed, Internet, breakfast, helpful staff, etc. I would recommend to have a car if you come here, everything but Wal Mart is at least 10 minutes by taxi and there are not many taxis around. There is nothing espectacular about this hotel but it has everything you need for a short stay at a decent price.

Room Tip: There are no views around the site so I guess every room is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
EdgarSGuatemala,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay with us and had a pleasant visit. I'm glad we had just what you needed and hope we added a little to your successful business trip. Please plan to come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised at how clean and comfortable the hotel was. The location was nice...right in front of a Wal-Mart and some restaurants (nothing too fancy), as well as 10 minutes from Gurnee Mills, The rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast was OK...nothing special (scrambled eggs [felt a little rubbery], muffins, bagels, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, juices and more).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Salandtal,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you chose to stay with us at SpringHill Suites. I'm glad you liked our hotel and found our location to be nice for travelers. I hope you had the chance to visit some of the shops and enjoy your stay. We welcome you to come and visit us again the next time you're in the Waukegan area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 4101 Fountain Square Place, Waukegan, IL 60085
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waukegan
#4 Family Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Springhill Suites Waukegan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.