We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers, Not So Great Soggy Fries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bulldogs Restaurant

Bulldogs Restaurant
122 S. Main Street, Wauconda, IL 60084
847-526-8234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 restaurants in Wauconda
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Miami, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Burgers, Not So Great Soggy Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us while talking to some patrons at the Tighthead Brewery. The burgers were unique and delicious. While those fries went to the thrash.

I had the Scarlett Johansson, which was a burger with bacon, apple BBQ sauce, jalapenos, and cream cheese. Yes, sounds weird but it was oh so delicious.

The hubby had a burger with grilled onions and 1000 island dressing. He really enjoyed his too. I'm sorry I can't recall the burger's name.

The fries were soggy and we doused them with salt and ketchup just to add flavor. Thankfully we only ordered one small fries. We had pop so I can't tell you about the milkshakes.

Visited on a Sunday evening around 6. Service was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    19
    14
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauconda, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great burger joint.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I went here a whaleback on the advice of work friends, I've been there twice. They do a great job with burgers, the French fries are not what I like, they are homemade type, but too soggy for me. Back to the burgers, large! very tasty, huge variety, and they will customize it for you. The Mac n cheese burger is fantastic! A little pricey, but remember this is a large burger!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Going down hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I live in wauconda and have had the burgers ever since they opened. But since the owner has opened middletons that is about 50 steps away my wife and I have said bulldogs has gone down hill quick. Meat has no taste and prices have gone up, and worst of all the burger was not cooked to the way I had ordered it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
994 reviews 994 reviews
725 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 232 cities Reviews in 232 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
“Greasy fast food joint”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stopped for lunch here. This is a fast food joint. She ordered the regular hot dog, I ordered the “Slap Yo Mama” burger, we both ordered shakes, and we split an order of fries. She said her hot dog was good but nothing unusual. My burger was quite good. The fries were the greasiest and oily fries we have ever had in our life as the fries were totally saturated and dripping wet with grease. The shakes were not made of real ice cream, were watered down, and had no flavor. The men’s washroom was not very clean. We do not plan on ever eating here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local dive, run by locals, frequented by locals...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Food was bad. Terrible service. When told they needed to get their act together, the were flippant and shrugged their shoulders. Certainly not a place for 2 star dining. The menu is the most exciting thing in there. Good luck getting what you ordered. They even messed up the simple ice cream order.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulldogs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bulldogs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bulldogs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.