We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bulldogs Restaurant

Bulldogs Restaurant
122 S. Main Street, Wauconda, IL 60084
847-526-8234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Wauconda
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wauconda, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

So many choices!! Ended up with a burger with bacon -- fantastic - cooked just the way I wanted it. Lines get really long and that can be annoying, but the food is worth the wait.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauconda, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We own a restaurant and go to Bulldogs on our night off :) Love the atmosphere, busy, fun and fast service. Love the inventive chefs in the kitchen, Great Job!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Finally, a great burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Bulldogs figured out what they do well, and then did it over and over. With a menu of a few dozen different burgers for a good price, Bulldogs is a favorite stop for us and our three year olds. The decor is that of a 50s diner, and it keeps everything simple. They have an impressive beer list of local and national microbrews as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Duck Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you have not had their Duck fries, you must try them! They are seasoned to perfection, thick fries, and there will not be any left! Every meal I have ever had at Bulldogs has been amazing. Lots of yummy burgers and hot dogs of course! Totally worth a visit!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is the old fashion burger your parents ate! Very good at doing authentic burgers the old fashioned way. I liked the way they were presented with all that great grease and all the trimmings. The frys were a bit to greasy for me however and perhaps they need a few lessons on how to properly prepare frys. We also ordered the chicken wings, and in my humble opinion were not even acceptable and need a re boot. We didn't come for anything but the burgers however and Bulldogs does burgers right!

If you want great wings, try Slyce in Wauconda.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulldogs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bulldogs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bulldogs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.