We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in PEI!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firedance Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Firedance Country Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Firedance Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
35 Firedance Ridge | RR #2 St. Catherines, St. Catherines, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best B&B in PEI!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

The Firedance Inn is truly one of the best places you can stay on your vacation to Prince Edward Island. The hosts, Erin & Evan have the perfect mix of professionalism and friendliness. They are in no way imposing, and truly make your experience one with lasting memory. This was my second stay at their inn. This time, we stayed there for 8 days. There isn't one thing we would have changed. If you want to experience the best B&B out there, choose this one. Erin & Evan know PEI well, and will direct you to sights to see as well as restaurants, etc. The gourmet breakfasts are amazing - the inn is perfectly clean and organized. I can't wait to go there next year - maybe for longer.

  • Liked — A home away from home.
  • Disliked — There is absolutely nothing I disliked.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2006

Our recent three night stay at Firedance Inn could only have been more perfect if the weather had been better, the only aspect of our stay that hosts Evan and Erin McAskile had no control over. From the initial e-mail and telephone exchanges to check out, everything was wonderful. The McAskiles were knowledgeable about PEI attractions and restaurants and gave us directions and recommendations that were in keeping with their standard of excellence. The inn is in a relaxing country location, yet it is easily accessible to PEI attractions and a quick drive to Charlottetown. Our guest room as well as the public areas of the inn were extremely clean and comfortable, and the setting overlooking a river enhanced the atmosphere. Breakfasts were delicious. On the three mornings we were at the inn we had crunchy coconut and almond waffles, vegetable frittatas (bacon optional), and apple cinnamon pancakes, all accompanied by coffee, juice, fruit, and homemade breads. Seating is at individual tables with a panoramic view of the river, but their arrangement allows interaction among guests who so desire. During our stay at Firedance Inn, it was clear that to Erin and Evan, innkeeping is a labor of love.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannmerrick@charter.net
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

If you are looking for a home away from home, look no further!
Evin and Erin have created a wonderful B and B and have literally thought of everything. It is a 20 minute drive from Charlotte Town so if you want to be in the city, this needs to be considered. We loved being out in the county and the veiw from our bedroom suite was incredible. It was difficult to leave everyday and a pleasure to return in the evening. Breakfasts are Evin's specialty and they are delicious. The hosts also know the various areas and are very helpful with ideas, maps, etc. PEI itself is a treat and a golfers paradise. Having the Firedance County Inn as our base could not have been better. We are already planning a return trip with friends...5+++++

  • Liked — The hosts, the cleanliness, the food
  • Disliked — We loved it all!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

I chose this B&B based on the photos and feedbacks I saw on Trip advisor but we were definitely disappointed and left with a bad feelings about B&Bs in general. The location was out of our way and was not even very close to charolttetown. The hostess told us upon our arrival that if we did not get to breakfase before 9, we would have to have cereal. The maid did not leave shampoo and soap in the room after the first day. In general, nothing homey about this place.

  • Liked — The room View was nice
  • Disliked — The hostess was too intruding.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carr0t, Owners at Firedance Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2006
We are truly mortified to come across this review of our property. As the 2006 Best Business Award winners for Prince Edward Island, we sincerely apologize to this guest for anything that would have lead to a less than exceptional experience. We appreciate their comments.

As Innkeepers, we pride ourselves on exceptional hospitality, customer service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to act as ambassadors for Prince Edward Island and help our guests find the secret treasures of this beautiful province. It is our desire to enhance our guest’s visits to our home, and our Island, and to anticipate their needs by tailor making their stay.

It is our heart felt wish that this guest continues to expand their Bed and Breakfast experiences as it a wonderful way to travel and to see the world.

Kind Regards,
Evan and Erin McAskile
Firedance Country Inn B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

My husband and I booked 2 nights at this lovely inn.....and wish we had stayed longer!
Evan and Erin were excellent hosts and had lots of tips and advice to share about places to go and things to see during our stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and it was a nice place to welcome you back at the end of a busy day, a very peaceful and beautiful property!
We also found the books that the hosts prepared in the rooms helpful as well with restaurants and day trip suggestions etc.
Breakfasts were amazing - fresh breads and great chef specialties!
We have already recommended this place to other vacationers looking for a place to stay on the island!

  • Liked — Convenience and friendliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

We visited Prince Edward Island for an anniversary vacation and were looking for a small inn that was quiet and peaceful but also in a good location. Firedance truly exceeded our expectations from the evening we arrived. The B&B is only about 7 years old; the rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and very well-kept. It is obvious that Evan and Erin (the innkeepers) thought about every little detail. The view from our room was breathtaking… fields, flowers, the water. My husband’s favorite memory was waking up one night and watching the moon rise over the river as he lay in bed.

Of course, the best part of Firedance is its innkeepers, Evan and Erin. They are a lovely young couple who enjoy visiting with their guests, and sharing the best places to eat and visit….either close by (Canoe Cove, 5 minutes away) or further away, Summerside (College of Piping), New Glasgow (lovely shops and lobster dinner) or one of the island’s beautiful beaches (Brackley or Cavendish). And, what a delight to start each day with fresh baked bread, fresh fruit and a frittata or delicious waffle. When we had to catch an early flight the last morning, they packed up Erin’s delicious bread, fruit and hot coffee to help us ease back into the real world.

We plan to return next summer and our son is already planning his honeymoon there. We are sharing this gem with all of our friends.
Dale Carter, South Bend Indiana

  • Liked — the innkeepers who went above and beyond our expectations
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

We stayed at this inn for 4 days. Evan and Erin gave us good advice on where to go, and printed out the Hopewell Rocks tide info for us to plan a day trip. We loved the breakfast and the dinning room has a great view of the river and huge backyard. All rooms has satelite TV and VCR, they also have some VCR tapes in case you want to stay in the room at night.

The location - if you are looking for a nice and quite country inn, this is a good place. If you want to be close to activities, then Charlottetown or Cavendish maybe a more suitable choice. The island is small, most places in the island is less than 1 hour away. We picked the place because it is centrally located, and suited for our last minute decision to drive to Hopewell to see the rocks.

Restaurant: New Glasgow Lobster Supper, a nice local favorate, nothing fancy, good value for the money, $29/lb lobster with unlimited mussels, salad, soft drink, desert. We went to New Glasgow because St. Ann's closed on Canada Day, we were glad we went there.

Lobster on the Wharf - we were disappointed. The quality of the food paled compared to New Glasgow.

Reminder: bring insects repel! A walk on the woods cost us dearly without it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Firedance Country Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firedance Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35 Firedance Ridge | RR #2 St. Catherines, St. Catherines, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown > St. Catherines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Catherines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Firedance Country Inn is a celebration of 4.5 Star country elegance in combination with breathtaking riverfront views and rolling landscapes.Nestled on the bank of the West River, our peaceful country acreage is only minutes from downtown Charlottetown, golfing, theatres, historical sites, beaches and shopping. Firedance Country Inn Bed and Breakfast is located in St. Catherines Prince Edward Island 15 minutes from Charlottetown, and is a full service Bed and Breakfast Inn which provides complimentary gourmet breakfasts each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Firedance Country Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firedance Country Hotel Cornwall
Firedance Country Inn b&b
Country Inn Cornwall
Cornwall Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firedance Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.