We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Uva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Save
You added Pachamama Jungle River Lodge to your Saves list
Punta Uva | Puerto Viejo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Great location,right there in the middle of the jungle! Bill and Cathy are super nice and very helpful. The bets sleep i ever had in such a relaxing and confortable enviroment. The river is right next to the bungalow and they rent kayaks at a very affordable price to go down the river all the way to the beach.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — i loved the place!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    23
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
49
142
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

I can’t say enough good things about Pachamama House and Bungalows! Truly, Bill and Cathy are some of the most wonderful people you will ever meet. They welcome you and give suggestions when needed for fun activities in the area. The amazing Punta Uva beach is just a 5-minute walk from your stay in the heart of a rainforest. The ocean water is the most comfortable I have ever been in. The house is quite private nestled in the rain forest. Waking up to Howler Monkeys, Toucans, and the sounds of nature right off your porch each morning is a delight everyone should experience at least once in a lifetime. I enjoy Pachamama so much that this was my second visit and I absolutely plan to return many many many more times in the future. Rather than an annual visit, I hope to make our trips to Pachamama at least twice a year from here on out. Go to Pachamama! You will kick yourself if you choose any place else!

  • Liked — Being in the rainforest and close to the beach
  • Disliked — can't think of anything!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Our stay at Pachamama was incredible! Staying with Bill and Cathy made us feel like we were staying with family. From our front porch we watched howler monkeys, sloths, toucans and many other types of animal and bird life. The service was great. We really felt at home! Make sure you have Bill's breakfasts to get you started each day. His dinners are awesome also. Kayak the Rio Ernesto and observe the incredible diversity of the Costa Rican jungle. A five minute walk takes you to the most pristine beach we have ever experienced. Ride the bicycles to Manzanillo. Body surf. Bird watch. Drink Imperials on the beach. There wasn't enough time in the day to do everything possible to do and it was all in walking or bicycling distance. Tours of the rain forest, zip lines and river rafting are all close. Many diverse restaurants with excellent food. Not one bad experience the entire stay.

  • Liked — Scenery, food, beach experience
  • Disliked — well it is a jungle, there were a few bugs, but not as bad as I expected
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Don't buy the hype..Costa Rica is great in June! It's hot and humid, but there are less tourists during this time.

Billy & Cathy at Pachamama were very nice and accommodating. The B&B is very close to the beach (Punta Uva) and it's quiet. Punta Uva beach is the BEST beach in the area and if you are a beach lover, I would suggest that you stay in Punta Uva.

The only negative is that there were not a lot of cafes to choose from in the area ( you gotta go to Puerto Viejo). Mate Latte is probably the best place to catch breakfast/lunch and the staff is very nice there (Thanks Heather for the good conversation). I didn't try Jungle Love cafe... but all the locals said it was good.

Overall my stay was very positive and I enjoyed myself as a solo traveler. I felt safe and relaxed during the entire time.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Thank you,Cathy and Bill, for the most wonderful vacation I have ever experienced. Pachamama accommodations were just what I was expecting: rustic and relaxing. Sitting out on the deck amongst the wild life and rain forest was like no other. We loved our daily walks but it sure wasn't necessary to see all the wildlife we were hoping to see. The monkeys, toucans, butterflies, and birds were prevalent right off our porch. Also, should you just mention a possible need in conversation , Cathy and Bill made it happen within minutes. Even received the first official facial and reflexology treatment from Cathy while sitting in the peaceful and tranquil surroundings.The daily breakfast provided has made me hit the grocery immediately upon returning home in hopes of reliving the experience every morning! :) A return visit will be in my future. Cathy and Bill--you are the best!!

  • Liked — Being situated right in the rain forest
  • Disliked — I can honestly say I had no complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

So, if you want to stay in jungle paradise...this is it. I, my wife and three kids stayed for one week at pachamama. Bill and Cathy could not have been any more helpful, from booking to arrival, excursions, restaurants, cabs, and idle chit chat. First the negatives...minor and only two...no a/c--but you are in the jungle. And it is about 5 hrs from the airport. Enuff about the negatives. The house is great. Real beds, fans, hot showers, Bill and Cathy, Bill and Cathy's gourmet breakfasts every morning. We absolutely loved the granola and yogurt with fresh fruit on the deck, watching the howler monkeys. The beach is spectacular at punta uva and only about 750 ft, I counted. Crystal clear waters, and always at about 84 deg.
Have Bill book the zip line tour. Relatively inexpensive, and fun for all the family. And without a doubt have him book the whitewater trip on the pacuare river---this was amazing!!!!
For dinner definitely eat once at Selvin's, and at least twice at La Pecora Nera---best italian ever!
We flew back two days ago...havnt stopped talking about the trip yet. Thank you to Bill and Cathy for a lifelong memorable trip.

  • Liked — location, breakfasts, the beach, Bill and Cathy
  • Disliked — no a/c---but you are in the jungle for cryin out loud
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Rare is the vacation spot so great that a revisit gets planned immediately upon returning home. Such is the allure of Punta Uva, the finest beach we've ever set eyes on, and home of Pachamama.

It seems that every travel book uses the same gorgeous photo of Punta Uva Beach, so we were curious as to where exactly it was and how far we would have to travel to get there. Let's just say it takes longer to grab one of the free bikes Pachamama offers than it is to walk across the street. It is THE place to stay for those who rue the "travel" to the beach.

Pachamama's appeal is difficult to nail down to a single aspect, but Bill's breakfast is missed even more than the gorgeous sunsets. In addition to the quality restaurants a short walk from home, Bill & Cathy's dinners are better than all of them. It was fun checking out the local fare, but the real flare is on site. To completely blow us away, they helped us celebrate (completely to our surprise) with the finest pineapple upside-down cake I've ever tasted courtesy of, (get this...) their 10 and 13 year-old son and daughter. Seriously, the Ritz should do so well.

Accomodations were divine. Beds, pillows and sheets straight out of the good ol' US of A and decks on each and every property right in the middle of the jungle. Thank God there was no cable television!!!! The only interruptions are the howler monkeys and the fresh fruit truck (my heaven's.... the fruit).

Location, location, location. Paramount to real estate, it is what works for staying at Pachamama. We did not want to travel the entire country on hot buses staying in different places every night, but did want to see the many sights (and sounds) of Costa Rica. For our one week stay we surfed (well, tried) at Playa Cocles, snorkeled the coral inlets and visited the rain forest in Manzanillo, went caving on the back side of Punta Uva's point, and kayaked up the river to see the monkeys -- all within 3 miles of Pachamama!! There is no gear to rent as it is all on site, free of charge (that's masks & snorkels, bicycles, kayaks, etc).

Thankfully the medical supply cabinet @ Bill & Cathy's is not third world (they had all the supplies necessary for minor surgery to remove our coral reef splinters acquired in Manzanillo).

In closing I wish to address our friends here at home who, being the worldly travelers that they are, informed us that we were going to Costa Rica, "For the rainy season." Yes, it rained. Beautiful, beautiful rain. It smelled as good as it tasted, and was even better to sleep to. We were only awarded between 7 and 12 hours of absolutely gorgeous sun EVERY day during this "rainy season", causing me to wonder when, then, is prime time? I imagine as soon as you arrive, whatever time of year that happens to be.

P.S. As cool as the rafting and canopy zip-line tours are (also easy day trips from Pachamama) visitors would be remiss to skip the Sunset Cafe @ Punta Uva Beach -- a two-minute walk from Pachamama -- home of the greatest cocktails we've ever had. Twenty minutes may seem a long wait for a daiquiri, but just trust us on this one.

  • Liked — location - you can do all the "Costa Rica stuff" within 3 miles of bungalows
  • Disliked — they're only available to rent and not to purchase
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pachamama Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

Address: Punta Uva | Puerto Viejo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, 8 kilometers from Puerto Viejo, within the “Gandoca-Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge”, Estelle and Florian welcome you, 200 meters from the wonderful Punta Uva beach, in their lush tropical garden at the edge of a river.Punta Uva beaches, ideal for swimming and all very beautiful are located 200 meters from Pachamama, at the mouth of Rio Ernesto, our jungle river. Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of tropical nature, while still being steps or paddles from the beach and close to local restaurants and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pachamama House & Bungalows Hotel Manzanillo
Pachamama House And Bungalows
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge Costa Rica/Punta Uva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.