We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING ... BEAUTIFUL SETTING ... HORRIBLE ACCOMODATION” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Uva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Save
You added Pachamama Jungle River Lodge to your Saves list
Punta Uva | Puerto Viejo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vietnam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“WARNING ... BEAUTIFUL SETTING ... HORRIBLE ACCOMODATION”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

It is with great sadness that we write this review. The setting is absolutely beautiful but the state of disrepair is beyond imagination. Upon our arrival we could smell alcohol on the owners breath and he appeared to be off balance ... we figured ... oh well anyone can have a drink during the day and ignored the warning signs. Our cabin was filthy and being in the jungle there were bugs but this was unbeleivable. The fan kept the air circulating but the place always smelt very bad ... the matress was rotting and smelled terribly of all the sweaty bodies before us. Our cabin was to come with breakfast and daily our tray was delivered with rotten fruit as our host swaggered through the trails slopping our coffee on the floor never to wipe anything up. We could hear the breaking dishes daily as he staggered about the place ... We tried to make the best of a bad situation and cleaned the place as best we could ... the final straw was the cock roach that woke my husband from his sleep that was five inches long and two inches wide. Upon looking for said roach we noticed more and more of the roaches crawling out of things to the count of twenty ... we packed up our things and slept the night in our car. The beaches are terrific in the area Punta Uva being our favorite. The place has been on the zero maintenance plan now for several years and things are literally falling down. We were led to beleive it was a family run operation and his family has left some time ago. Paying up front is not recommended as it enables the owner to buy more alcohol which is the downfall of the place. Short of some rehabilitation for the owner there is seriously no hope here. It is sad to see what could potentially be a wonderful paradise go to wrack and ruin. I can not in all honesty recommend that anyone book even one night in this dump.

Room Tip: Please read my other reviews as we are not complainers ... we just want to save any other travellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pachabill, Owner at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
We appreciate all reviews, certainly do not like to see negative ones, and do everything possible to address any issues when they are brought to our attention by our guests while they are here with us. The older Bungalow where these guests stayed is our priority for maintenance right now and has also housed some very satisfied guests in the previous weeks.. We have also had our share of transition issues with travel, housekeeping, maintenance, caretakers, and personal issues during the past 6 months as evidenced by the varying good and bad reviews. We have been addressing all of these things seriously as a team and will hopefully be seeing some much more postive reviews from current and future guests very soon. Bill, Owner/Manager of Pachamama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    23
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
49
142
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We visited Punta Uva the 3rd week of April. Our treatment while staying at Pachama was the only negative experience we had in our two trips to Costa Rica. Bill, the owner, took off to San Jose on our first day there. He didnt return until our last day. He never greeted us or told us he would be away or anything like that. It was a couple from Colorado there who told us. The wife(who was at least trying to be gracious) said she was in charge until Bill came back. Trouble was that she really couldnt answer any questions at all that we had, she couldnt speak spanish, and oh yea ..she disappeared after one day and that left us with just her husband who was sarcastic, and lets just say he is into fishing and not running a bed and breakfast ! The property was beautiful but our bungalow was not clean and maintenance seemed non existent. We were suppose to have breakfast included but we gave up after a few days because you had to go to the house and ask for it and then be ignored for awhile, or listen to sarcastic comments so you knew you were imposing ,I guess. We would have left and went elsewhere but since there wasnt anyone to discuss checking out with, and if we just left..well hes got our credit card number and doesnt offer refunds.. we decided just to stay away from the house and make the best of our vacation..and we did! No thanks to Pachamama!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Since February 2013, we are the new owners of Pachamama.
Did you like the environment Pachamama, much less services.
We invite you to discover the new Pachamama. Accommodations fully renovated (bedroom, kitchen, bathroom), full breakfast served on your terrace, daily housekeeping, bicycles available (free) and a fully landscaped garden.
We will be delighted to welcome you and show you the best of Pachamama
Regards,
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Pachamama is a great place to relax and enjoy the combination of jungle and one of the most beautiful beaches in the Carribean--Punta Uva. Howler(Growler?) monkeys and a nearby rooster wake you up a little before dawn(bring earplugs unless you're an early riser). Bill provides a good breakfast to start your day. The casita was clean with a very comfortable mattress(important). The cooking facilities were minimum.
We went the third week of April, and there really weren't very many bugs at all(much to all our surprise!).
It does rain but mainly at night when we were there.
I had no pre-conceived ideas about what to expect when we went there--a friend discovered Pachamama and booked it. There are many more hotels and restaurants there than I thought there may be.

Room Tip: We rented the casita. It is by itself and a bit away from the river. It was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I used to live in Cocles - so I knew that that Pachamama's cabinas are right across the street from my very favorite beach. And when I looked at the pictures on Pachamama's web-site: what nice cabinas! Simple, bright and clean - and according to the reviews, a great breakfast to boot.

When we arrived, we thought we were in the wrong place. Bill was sleeping, and when he finally came out to "greet" us, he didn't make an effort to be friendly. He told us that we'd need to come back later - our cabina was dirty from the last guest. So we went to the beach and came back an hour later. The cleaning supplies (dirty rags, etc) were still laying on the floor, and it smelled of strong chemical cleaners - and mold. All I really need to be happy is a comfortable bed with clean sheets and a clean bathroom. I adore the jungle, so I wanted to be in simple, open style cabinas, so I could hear and see the wildlife. Unfortunately the bed had sheets from several different well worn sets - and didn't appear to be fresh or clean. The room was dark, dank, and moldy. No bedside lights, and no towels. Extremely uninviting.

We stayed anyway, but didn't sleep well due to the bar next door, got up early and left before breakfast. After our interactions with Bill the day before, we didn't want his breakfast! We wont be back.

Room Tip: When you are looking at reviews, be sure to check the dates! Apparently Pachamama USED to be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Since February 2013, we are the new owners of Pachamama.
Did you like the environment Pachamama, much less services.
We invite you to discover the new Pachamama. Accommodations fully renovated (bedroom, kitchen, bathroom), full breakfast served on your terrace, daily housekeeping, bicycles available (free) and a fully landscaped garden.
We will be delighted to welcome you and show you the best of Pachamama
Regards,
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubord, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I went to Costa Rica a few years ago. We stayed here and since have been to Thailand but This place is still my favorite of all... Little Bunglaows in the middle of the jungle but only a 5 min walk to the beach. Don't forget your mosquito spray AND the afterbite stuff, you can't find it in CR.
There were Bikes we could use, kayaks, and if you don't want to leave the bungalows you don't have to you can eat there and have the food delivered right to your front door and it's ALL sooo great, Bill really knows how to cook! and its reasonably priced!!! We will definitely be returning!!
Tons to do and really calm, woken up by the howler monkeys was great believe it or not! We saw tons of animals from our porch, monkeys, sloth, toucans, tons of birds, lizards, it was great!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson Falls
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

If you are looking to get away from the city hustle and bustle and want to relax, this is a great place. Bill, our host, was very helpful. We didn't rent a car so we were happy to rely on his local knowledge. We kayaked, snorkeled, atv'd, ziplined, beachcombed, fished, biked and hiked... Taking the interbus was a great way to get there from San Jose. This is not the casita for a pampered, air-conditioned, hotel stayer, but if you are outdoorsy and want a great rural feeling experience, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our second trip to the gorgeous Punta Uva/Manzanillo area of Costa Rica. This was our first stay, but not last, at Pachamama. Travelling on a small budget, we chose the casita with kitchen so that we could prepare most of our own meals. The bungalows are clean and quaint and in a beautiful setting just tame enough to feel safe but wild enough to attract lots of wildlife. Rising around sunrise each morning to the sounds of howler monkeys, we started our days with coffee on our front porch, where there was a constant flutter of hummingbirds feeding in the flora and leaping of lizards from leaf to leaf. We shopped at the local market just minutes down the road, and had meals of delicious fresh vegetables and fruits, meats, and fresh baked bread. Bill treated us to several wonderful meals, breakfast and dinner, and we cannot recommend his cooking highly enough... his seafood pasta and french toast are not to be missed! We spent our days walking the area, on the beaches, kayaking the Rio Ernesto (which runs along the property and down to the ocean, where we saw a brilliant Emerald Basilisk, Green Heron, lots of Kingfishers and turtles, and a sloth hanging low on a vine in the lagoon by the sea), biking to Manzanillo, hiking out to Punta Mona (where we had the most picturesque views of the ocean, and where we saw the Montezuma Oropendola, poison dart frogs and howlers hopping from tree to tree to cross the trail)...let's just say we had a fantastic time and wake up every day missing our days in the jungle! There are so many things to love about this area...warm and welcoming people, breathtaking surroundings, turned down pace of life... and the easy access to abundant wildlife. You literally walk down the road to the beach and see monkeys and sloths! We were lucky enough to see 2 sloths with their young hanging on to them as they slowly moved through the trees, both a two-toed and a three-toed...pretty amazing!
This is truly a nature lover's paradise. Don't expect anything frilly or shee-shee. The lodging is clean and charming, Bill is incredibly friendly, helpful and so funny, and he has everything you might need for a little adventure... bikes, kayak, snorkel gear, boogie boards... you should go! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pachamama Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

Address: Punta Uva | Puerto Viejo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, 8 kilometers from Puerto Viejo, within the “Gandoca-Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge”, Estelle and Florian welcome you, 200 meters from the wonderful Punta Uva beach, in their lush tropical garden at the edge of a river.Punta Uva beaches, ideal for swimming and all very beautiful are located 200 meters from Pachamama, at the mouth of Rio Ernesto, our jungle river. Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of tropical nature, while still being steps or paddles from the beach and close to local restaurants and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pachamama House & Bungalows Hotel Manzanillo
Pachamama House And Bungalows
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge Costa Rica/Punta Uva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.