We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chicago Style Deep Dish in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gracie's Sports Grille & Pizza

Gracie's Sports Grille & Pizza
1021 North Cummings Lane, Washington, IL
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Washington
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Chicago Style Deep Dish in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am a huge fan of Chicago Deep Dish pizza from Giordano's to Gino's East to Lou Malanati's and have been surprised and disappointed for years that you just can't seem to find a decent Chicago style (sauce on the top) deep dish pizza in Central Illinois. It seems that being this close it should not be that hard. I have tried many places to find that either it isn't what I was looking for or is of a much less quality here. So I was happily surprised when I gave Gracie's a try about a year ago and thoroughly enjoyed their Chicago style deep dish. It is by far the closest I have found in Central Illinois to the real deal. While I have to admit I still prefer the Chicago institutions I mentioned above more than Gracie's, it is still a very quality pizza. Since then I have been back five or six times and have left a satisfied customer each and every time. Lately I have tried a few other items and while they did not beat the deep dish in my mind I really enjoyed them. My next favorite is their BBQ pulled pork sandwich.

Other things that I like about Gracie's is that there are always sports on and most seats have a very nice view of a nearby TV. It also always seems to have a nice sized crowd and the drinks are reasonably priced.

A few other things to mention, is that although it did not bother me, my friend thought the pizza had too much of a (basil I think it was) flavor to the deep dish sauce so he always asks them to use their other pizza sauce and they have happily accommodated this request. Also, the place is usually quite noisy so if that is something that will bother you, you may want to look elsewhere. The Chicago deep dish pizza is not necessarily inexpensively priced as compared to a normal pizza
but that is standard anywhere you go I have found and so I think it is very reasonable for the product.

Overall, I find Gracie's a very quality restaurant for the area and look forward to visiting it in the future.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seg82
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good for a Local Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Gracie's is good if you don't want to head into Peoria, but there's nothing that makes me want to go on a regular basis. The pizza is decent, but the sausage lacked flavor. Everything else is pretty typical bar food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Local Sportsbar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in town for a retreat and ate dinner here as part of a large group. The food was very good. I had the pulled port sandwich which was very tasty and a large size. Several of my friends had speciality salads which were absolutely huge and looked delicious.

Because of the quality of food, I had lunch there with family during my stay in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Enjoyable sports bar atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I/we have eaten here a number of times, while staying at the very nice Sleep Inn next door. Food has always been excellent - can't go wrong with ordering one of the "award winning" items from the menu. Don't expect quiet, or being able to hear the TV you happen to be watching, as it is a sports bar!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good food! We live here in town and go here all the time. It occurred to me it was about time I reviewed it. The pig wings are wonderful. The pizza is also very good. But if you're a carnivore, like me, you'll really love the Italian Beef or the BBQ brisket sandwich. *drool* The BBQ in particular is fantastic. Get it with sweet potato fries.

This place has a little something for everyone as well as a well-stocked bar. Our favorite spot in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gracie's Sports Grille & Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Gracie's Sports Grille & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gracie's Sports Grille & Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.