We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bread not as good as I remembered but soup was excellent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive Garden
701 N Milwaukee Ave, Vernon Hills, IL 60061-1556
(847) 816-0293
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 104 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bread not as good as I remembered but soup was excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It has been a while since going to an Olive Garden but I always looked forward to the bread rolls that just didn't seem up to par this time and I wasn't the only one in the group to notice it. The soup, however, was excellent and the extra helpings always a welcome Olive Garden perk! The mini deserts for $2.95 are fantastic however for both the smaller portion size along with the excellent taste!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Your typical Darden rest. Food is pre portioned (the main meal at least) , the service is slower then I would like it (especially during work hour lunch)... but you can't go wrong with endless soup and salad!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a good quick dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stopped in for a quick dinner - Soup, salad and bread sticks for all four of us. Soups were very good, but the salads that we kept getting were all frozen, and we had 3 attempts at this. Finally we were running out of time, we just said don't try anymore. Not sure what the deal was, but 3 frozen salads is not good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have had dinner here twice in the last six weeks we first took advantage of their dine and take menu what a great value.
Their new deal is dinner for two for $25 two entrees, an appetizer or desert to share and of course endless salad and bread sticks i picked the smoked mozzarella chicken it was delicious, I also tried the creme brulee martini even more delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great value and exceptions service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had lunch yesterday and we very impressed with the food and especially impress by our server, Susan. She was friendly and "on top of it" when it came to taking care of us. She was there with refills and handled all of our needs before we even needed anything. What a warm a friendly person. The food was fresh and wonderful. The soup, salad and pannini is a very good value, so check it out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.