We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bobo's Diner & Ice Cream Prlr

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bobo's Diner & Ice Cream Prlr
280 Hawthorn Village Comm, Vernon Hills, IL 60061
(847) 680-8900
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 104 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Vernon Hills, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A witch's review ? No wonder she has no tasty.

I have been taking my family to Bo-Bo's since my kids

we just old enough to walk.

we love the place.they have a something for the whole family.

I love the italian beef ,my wife wont eat gyros anywhere else.

The kids love the ribs ,burgers ,and that superman ice cream.

I stop in sometimes just to get one of the thick shakes.

Hey ,hey thank god for Bobos!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oz
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“DREADFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had been to this place last year and it wasn't bad however things were not that way today. If you ever go somewhere for lunch during lunch hours and you are almost the only people there LET THAT BE YOUR SIGN ! The beef sandwich was so greasy that it had a visible oil slick on it and the beef was nasty very very tough. While looking at the ice cream at the fountain almost every one had a ice cap on top not looking too fresh today. They also had plates of food on the counter to show you what the specials were for the day. When I say on the counter I mean on the counter where you order , unwrapped. I found that rather gross , either put some plastic wrap on it or put it behind glass not out in the open on the counter.If you like hole in the wall substandard food then help yourself , I for one will never be back bo bo no no

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville
2 reviews
“Great 50's athmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The owner, Gus, takes great effort in constantly improving the restaurant. The 50s decor with appropriate music is nostalgic. We love to go there alone and with the grand children.

Gus has a neighborly attitude and is good with conversation served with appropriate humor. We have been going there for many years and still enjoy the fresh food, athmosphere, ice cream, specials, and warm hospitality.

The outdoor seating is very pleasant in the open courtyard. Seconds on drinks are a deal at 25c for a large cup.

A good variety of salads are served with chicken or Kronos Gyros (the best). I personally like the onion rings which are better than any other local restaurant.

Try it, you will like it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for a gyros.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a great gyros and fries, or Greek style chicken, this is the place to go. Friendly atmosphere along with good food equals a place worth visiting.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“They really have lost their way”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Its a basic rule of marketing that when you run a promotion, the idea is to encourage customers to come back again and again. Somehow this is lost on this sad place. We went there when they were part of a supplier's "free Gyros" day and found lines out the door moving very slowly. When we did order, we found a place that serves skimpy Gyros, vastly overpriced sides and a customer unfriendly atmosphere. The Gyros - OK but with very mild flavors, served on a small pita with a few onions and pieces of tomato. Its lite on the sauce... want more?, its 75 cents. French fries were $3 for a "LARGE" - really a smallish sized paper bag holder that would be considered a "medium" at a fast food place. They were OK, though. A medium drink is $2.50 - serve yourself but NO free refills! Pay 50 cents for that. On that day, even water was .75. Lots of items on the menu board had crudely written price increases taped over them. Most people took a free gyros alone and split. I should have too. Never, ever, will I come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobo's Diner & Ice Cream Prlr also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Bobo's Diner & Ice Cream Prlr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bobo's Diner & Ice Cream Prlr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.