We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border

On the Border
535 Lakeview Pkwy, Vernon Hills, IL 60061-1827
224-433-5450
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 104 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had dinner here one night while staying at Hotel Indigo down the street. Plenty of food. Typical Mexican food, but overall good. Drinks were good too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“New Surprises on the Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have not been to On the Border for a meal in quite a while and was very surprised at all the new offerings on the menu. The Hatch Chile Chicken and Corn soup, which I chose for lunch was excellent. The peppers gave it a little bit of fire, and there was plenty of chicken and corn in it. It was an excellent change from the Tortilla Soup. Their chips and salsa can't be beat, crispy, thin, and not oil coated, and the salsa has just the right amount of bite. My friend had the pick two, and when you combined his two choices with the rice and beans, it was a very full platter of food. We opted on a pitcher of beer, which was a little pricey for Bud Light, but it went well with the meal. Our servers were very attentive, and did not mind that it took us a little bit of time to choose our meals. They were attentive to our needs, prompt with the bill, and did not rush us away from our table. The food, the service, and the cost were a good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent in every aspect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I thought the food, the service and the cost were all awesome!!!! I have not had fish tacos this good since visiting New Mexico and the rest of our food was also excellent and portion sizes are plenty.The drinks were also a great value. The Kahluha ice cream pie was the perfect ending:):)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was ok, I prefer the Mexican food in the UK to be honest. This place was fun and reasonably priced and service was good. I think I got free nachos.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good, quick Mexican food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Average food, average service and okay atmosphere. They do have a large enclosed porch area that is nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.