We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Pulled Pork and More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Urban Barbecue

Real Urban Barbecue
1260 South Milwaukee Ave, Vernon Hills, IL
847-613-1227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 86 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pulled Pork and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had discovered Real Urban Barbeque at a catered event and wanted to try the actual restaurant. I was not disappointed. I had the pulled pork with spicy sauce with a side of beans. The flavors were some of the best I have tasted in the barbeque arena. My guests had the BBQ turkey sandwich which was a very large portion and also received rave reviews. The place was bustling at 1:30 on a Saturday afternoon which is another indication the food is pleasing all who visit. It was rainy, but would love to go back and try out the ample outdoor eating area. On the whole, great BBQ and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One Of Chicagoland's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Real Urban Barbeque clearly has some of the best ribs, chicken, and smoked brisket in the Chicago area.

They offer an excellent choice of sauces including specials like root beer barbeque sauce. Root beer barbeque sauce may sound strange but it was wonderful!

The selection of side dishes is wonderful and it's difficult to narrow down your choices because there are so many great options.

Be sure to try the burnt ends when they are available.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
586 reviews 586 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
821 helpful votes 821 helpful votes
“Tasty chicken and ribs, but so-so brisket”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went there for dinner with some friends tonight. The chicken was very tasty and moist, and the ribs were good as well. But I felt the brisket was a little too dry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

When we saw the sign for real urban barbecue we just had to try it. I've Included a few pictures.
Actually thought this place was really cool. You walk up to carving station and try to read the signs over head and then place your order. I ordered the BBQ Brisket sandwitch with sweet sauce and my wife ordered the pulled pork with sweet sauce. We also wanted to try the sides, ordering the sweet tatters, the golden corn bake , mac and cheese and scalloped tatters. The best of the lot was the sweet tatter souffle and golden corn bake. Quite good actually! I really think our sandwitches were great! The pork being the best. We shall try more offerings in the future.
Give this a try! Honest. And let us know what you think..
Gary

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hands down, the best BBQ in the area! RUB is a weekly dinner stop for our family now- we can't get enough! The portions are large - I always walk out of there feeling full! Usually get the mini burnt ends sandwich and a side. (Sometimes I get a regular sandwich and 2 sides to have leftovers for the next day!) Their prices are very reasonable and the food is delicious! They offer sweet or spicy sauce at the counter plus 4 sauces on the table and a monthly special sauce near the register. Their pickles are amazing - you must try them! I've never had a side I didn't like! My favorites are the mac 'n' cheese and bread pudding... to die for! HIGHLY recommend this place for lunch or dinner! Yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Urban Barbecue also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Real Urban Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Urban Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.