We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't small things count anymore?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 North Milwaukee Avenue, Vernon Hills, IL 60061   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Don't small things count anymore?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

5-day stay in early August, 2014. We rented at this hotel because of the kitchen but when we arrived it was bare of dishes, utensils, pots and pans, dish soap and sponge or dish cloth. We had to request the items we wanted and the front desk then promptly brought dishes and silverware, one small packet of dish soap and a dish towel. The ads state the kitchen is fully equipped but that was not exactly the case. The amenities in the bathroom included a small bath soap and a hand soap. The towels were the standard hotel variety which are inadequate in my opinion. If we wanted clean towels or sheets each day, we had to request them and pay an additional fee. We could carry the towels down to the front desk and exchange them for a clean set at no additional cost. The room was clean for the most part and the appliances worked in the kitchen. Final words: be sure to read all the small print to know exactly what you're getting.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
1
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylor, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The room was dirty, the kitchen was terrible. Dishes had old food on them (clearly seen). The odor smelled like dogs and the sheets smelled like they were washed in water with no soap. The bed was hard as a brick, which made me want to sleep in a chair but there were none. Dogs kept barking through the night which just topped thongs off. I will not stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. We would like to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that your room was not cleaned properly and that you did not find your bed to be comfortable. We will retrain our housekeeping staff to ensure every room is cleaned to our standards. We will also inspect all of our beds to make sure they are meeting our standards for comfort.

Your feedback helps us work with our team to ensure that we are continually improving, so thank you again. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vernon Hills hotels

Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First the Good:
Front desk people and the cleaning staff are very friendly.
The place is very quiet. I stayed on the 1st floor facing the front entrance parking lot it was still quite.
It is located in and next to a bunch of malls and shopping.

The bad
This might be with all extended stays. No printer. However, you can send something to the front desk staff and they will print it out for you.
Bleached blood stain on sheet. They staff immediately replaced the bedding.
Bathroom sink water was clogged, but it slowly went down.

Note you cannot see this building from the main road. You need to turn into the SAM's Club Kohles parking lot. This Extended Stay is located to the right of Kohles and towards the back.

Room Tip: Make sure curtains are pushed back of air conditioner, or it will affect the thermostat and cause i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Reservation was for two double beds and received a king with a rollaway bed. The evening staff person claimed that our room type / bed preference was unknown to the front desk because the reservation was made through expedia which does not pass on this information. (Really!???) There was nothing she said she could do about the situation. We only needed the room for 6 hours so we made the situation work. At post age 50 I thought I was past having to spend a night on a roll away bed.

The morning staff was very helpful! We left during breakfast setup. The guy offered to fetch us anything that was ready, but not yet moved to the breakfast area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I really appreciated Lindsay Levinson's willingness to give us a good rate for our 2-week stay. And the hotel is located in a very good area. It is very close to Kohl's, Sam's, Walmart, Mall, and tons of shopping and eating places. The hotel itself could have been cleaner. Our first night, we had to completely change sheets and bedding due to gross stains on pillow covers, sheets and blankets. Lindsay did refund us our first night due to this issue. One housekeeper, Cynthia, seem to do a better than average job cleaning the rooms. Otherwise, there was not a lot attention given to cleaning it appears. My husband had a very important phone conference where he was in need of a room for 2-3 hours. They did not have a conference room available or any other type of room that he could use-wanted to charge him another night's rate (manager agreed to 1/2 nights charge) to use a table and desk area of an available room for that limited time. Also, we had constant issues with our key to our room. We literally had to have our keys rekeyed almost every time we left our hotel room-which was very often in a 2-week period-so that was very annoying. Overall it was an okay stay-the rate was good. However, there are some issues that need to be corrected before I would be willing to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Its a good option for someone who wants a budget room inthe locality. The Management & Staff is although very rude. They are not at all helpful or flexible. The Breakfast Snacks are most ofthe time very limited with options. The Rooms are very spacious & also neat with basic amenities. The Housekeeping is very poor & toiletries are not refilled until asked for. Everything you need, you have to go to the Front Desk to get, which isridiculous to say the least.

Choose this hotel only if you do not have any other choice in the area.

Room Tip: Try rooms onthe 3rd Floor facing the Back side of the hotel for nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your most recent stay at our hotel. We are committed to ensuring all of our guest have an enjoyable stay and I apologize that we fell short of your expectations. I am sorry that our staff did not attend to your needs in a professional manner. I will work closely with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so we really appreciate your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Excellent hotel to stay away from home and feel at home. its got good cooking facility and nicely maintained rooms with high speed internet through wifi. Close to Vernon hills. Humble and polite staff, always there to help and not to forget the morning take away breakfast which is given as complimentary.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake behind has good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
The staff and I appreciate your kind remarks. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, free Wi-Fi and spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens at a great value. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest

Address: 215 North Milwaukee Avenue, Vernon Hills, IL 60061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Vernon Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Vernon Hills
Vernon Hills Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.