We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pioneer Cabins--outdated and way overpriced--beware of mice!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Route 178 & 71, Utica, IL 61373   |  
Hotel amenities
Plainfield, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pioneer Cabins--outdated and way overpriced--beware of mice!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After an enjoyable one night stay in the hotel wing of the starved rock lodge, we decided to try one of their pioneer cabins for a night. I had read some older negative reviews mentioning that the cabins were dark, dingy, and outdated, so we had avoided them in the past. When making our reservation this time, the employee assured me that the cabins had been updated and had all new handmade furniture, so we thought we'd give it a try. (Also figured the update accounted for the $200+ a night rate.).

Upon check-in, we were extremely disappointed to find that the cabin was dark and to our eyes still very outdated--especially the no frills bathroom straight from the 1970s. The "fireplace" was little more than a fake fireplace from Sears catalog. I don't even think you could use the "complimentary " wood in it.

Keep reading--the real kicker was when my kids noticed the sign on the back of the door (complete with Jerry from "Tom & Jerry") that read

"If you have food in your cabin, expect mice!"

That pretty much settled it. If we were going to pay over $200 a night, we certainly weren't going to be sharing our cabin with mice! We immediately went to the front desk and requested a refund. We ended up staying at the very nice Hampton Inn in Peru instead.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    66
    16
    16
    7
See reviews for
58
60
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and is was great. From the moment we stepped into the lodge our mouth was open in awe of the beauty of it. The front desk staff were outstanding, the food was great and not of speck of dirt to be found.
I meet a nice lady playing the price is right online and after chatting found out she is employed in the area. I was giving compliments about the park. and the lodge and found out she works there. Shout out to Judy and all of the wonderful staff!!!! Keep up the great work. I always recommend this place to people looking for a getaway. My hubby and had a great visit..
I was there about 8 years ago but the site made me pick a recent date. My friends just got back and echoed everything thing I said.

Room Tip: All the rooms would be great. we had the cheapest and thought we were in heaven, so I don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed in a Sunset King De LaSalle cabin this weekend for 2 nights. Enjoyed the woodburning fireplace in the cabin and the nostalgic smell of the smoke smell in the cabin (reminds me of camping!). Complimentary bundles of firewood and matches were even provided outside our door. Room was very dark! Dark wood walls and ceiling, not much lighting. Bathroom was small with poor lighting also. Vanity/sink area was about a foot and a half wide in a cubby area, so no room to put any toiletries except on the floor or a window ledge. If you don't want to hear your neighbors conversations and TV shows, stay somewhere else. The walls were very thin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the room to the dining to the pool, everything was wonderful about the Starved Rock Lodge. All of the staff were kind and helpful, especially the dining room staff. The food was a nice surprise, we expected standard fare, but the dinners were great. The pool and hot tub were a great way to relax from a hectic day. The ice cream and fudge are truly wonderful, and not overly priced like at some hotels. The park is a great place to hike and relax, especially in the cool canyons.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you want a quick get-a-way from Chicago that put you in a completely different world, Starved Rock Lodge is the place. Though the rooms aren't fancy, the staff is very polite and attentive, and the food and drink in the dining room and bar are great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We enjoy Starved Rock State Park and all that it has to offer. The hiking here is the best in the area. The lodge has great entertainment and we alwatys have fun visiting. The food is average and the rooms need updating. Because of all the area has to offer we continue to come back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were so well cared for in our accommodation planning and actual service for our family gathering of 40 people and 10 rooms. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast menu was delicious and the service was great. There was rain forecast for the whole weekend so the lodge let us have a conference room for $100 a day instead of$200. That was a lifesaver for it rained off and on for two days and our picnics would have been drenched!

Room Tip: Ask for the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

Address: Route 178 & 71, Utica, IL 61373
Location: United States > Illinois > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lodge, built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Features 69 guest rooms and 21 cabin rooms, majestic Great Hall with 2-sided fireplace, on-site restaurant and bar, outdoor dining, indoor pool, weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Starved Rock Utica
Starved Rock Hotel Utica Il

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list