We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a first class lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route 178 & 71, Utica, IL 61373   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a first class lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and is was great. From the moment we stepped into the lodge our mouth was open in awe of the beauty of it. The front desk staff were outstanding, the food was great and not of speck of dirt to be found.
I meet a nice lady playing the price is right online and after chatting found out she is employed in the area. I was giving compliments about the park. and the lodge and found out she works there. Shout out to Judy and all of the wonderful staff!!!! Keep up the great work. I always recommend this place to people looking for a getaway. My hubby and had a great visit..
I was there about 8 years ago but the site made me pick a recent date. My friends just got back and echoed everything thing I said.

Room Tip: All the rooms would be great. we had the cheapest and thought we were in heaven, so I don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    99
    24
    18
    10
See reviews for
70
96
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed in a Sunset King De LaSalle cabin this weekend for 2 nights. Enjoyed the woodburning fireplace in the cabin and the nostalgic smell of the smoke smell in the cabin (reminds me of camping!). Complimentary bundles of firewood and matches were even provided outside our door. Room was very dark! Dark wood walls and ceiling, not much lighting. Bathroom was small with poor lighting also. Vanity/sink area was about a foot and a half wide in a cubby area, so no room to put any toiletries except on the floor or a window ledge. If you don't want to hear your neighbors conversations and TV shows, stay somewhere else. The walls were very thin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the room to the dining to the pool, everything was wonderful about the Starved Rock Lodge. All of the staff were kind and helpful, especially the dining room staff. The food was a nice surprise, we expected standard fare, but the dinners were great. The pool and hot tub were a great way to relax from a hectic day. The ice cream and fudge are truly wonderful, and not overly priced like at some hotels. The park is a great place to hike and relax, especially in the cool canyons.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you want a quick get-a-way from Chicago that put you in a completely different world, Starved Rock Lodge is the place. Though the rooms aren't fancy, the staff is very polite and attentive, and the food and drink in the dining room and bar are great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We enjoy Starved Rock State Park and all that it has to offer. The hiking here is the best in the area. The lodge has great entertainment and we alwatys have fun visiting. The food is average and the rooms need updating. Because of all the area has to offer we continue to come back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were so well cared for in our accommodation planning and actual service for our family gathering of 40 people and 10 rooms. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast menu was delicious and the service was great. There was rain forecast for the whole weekend so the lodge let us have a conference room for $100 a day instead of$200. That was a lifesaver for it rained off and on for two days and our picnics would have been drenched!

Room Tip: Ask for the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in August 2012 - 2 night in the older part of the Lodge and one in a 2 room Pioneer Cabin.

We would not return to the lodge again - simply too noisy - this place is old and the walls are thin and you can here your neighbors watching TV and talking and every word said by every person walking past your room - you can clearly hear the loud "ding" of the elevator arriving at the opposite end of the hall.

The Pioneer cabin was lovely - and large and quiet and fun - AND expensive. But we'd stay there again.

We really enjoyed the quick access to all of the hiking trails - which are amazing.

We planned to eat in the pub - but the appetizer we had was terrible, so we went into town.

ALSO (pet peeve): the coffee shop sells muffins for $2.99 - really taking advantage of being the only option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/Starved Rock
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

Address: Route 178 & 71, Utica, IL 61373
Location: United States > Illinois > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lodge, built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Features 69 guest rooms and 21 cabin rooms, majestic Great Hall with 2-sided fireplace, on-site restaurant and bar, outdoor dining, indoor pool, weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starved Rock Utica
Starved Rock Hotel Utica Il

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.