We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Crowded as Starved Rock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matthiessen State Park

Matthiessen State Park
Box 509, Utica, IL 61373
815-667-4868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Utica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not As Crowded as Starved Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you are looking to escape the crowds that can sometimes take away from the back to nature experience at Starved Rock- You have to go here. It is equally as beautiful and usually less crowded. We always make it a day here as well as Starved Rock.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    42
    7
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peru, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Matthiessen State Park is a hidden gem~~~shhhhh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We absolutely love hiking at Matthiessen Park near Oglesby. This time of the year (October) it is especially nice. The leaves turn a bright yellow and when the sun is shining, it is spectacular. There are 2 different areas that we hike. The first would be the Dells area which has an upper and lower. Both are awesome--I would recommend doing both. The Vermilion River area is not marked well AT ALL---it is extremely difficult to find your way back on the trail you came in on. There is no reason for these trails to not be marked---very frustrating. The river itself is nice, but drop bread crumbs along the way! Lastly would be the Matthiessen Lake area which is a very easy and nice hike. The bridge is beautiful and the lower area is nice to hike to the waterfall.

Overall---we like to hike Matthiessen better than Starved Rock because it is less crowded and mostly a level hike.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice scenic place to wander around for a while with a camera and some friends or family. Pretty views, fresh air, what's not to love?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stay on the trails. Don't go wandering around. Bad things happen.

That being said, it's a good alternative to starved rock that is always so busy. The people from Chicago flock to there, go to mathesin for a good alternative.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The park in the woods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I like the Waterfalls and that they had and but I think that Strave Rock is better. I also like the scenery and the bridge I walk over.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthiessen State Park also viewed

 

Been to Matthiessen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matthiessen State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.