We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory Hollow Campground

Hickory Hollow Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hickory Hollow Campground
Save
You added Hickory Hollow Campground to your Saves list
757 North 3029th Road, Utica, IL   |  
Hotel amenities
IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice campground!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

2 couples stayed here last weekend (June 8, 2013). The Staff at the front desk were VERY friendly. The Campground is well maintained and the owners obviously take pride in their business. We used full-hookup sites and what was nice about them was they were pull-thru sites, so we could camp face to face with the other couple we were with. The shower area and bathrooms were very clean. They were nice showers, with good water pressure and lots of hot water. They had a nicely stocked camp store and a game room in the back with 2 pool tables and several video games. They also have an inground pool. It was only a 10 minute drive to Starved Rock State Park and they are located right off the interstate so it's very easy access to get to. There is a McDonald's and a Subway less than 2 minutes away in the gas station as you exit the Interstate. i would highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
26
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braceville, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Started going to this campground 11 years ago when they 1st opened. We rv 3 months out of the year and have great experiences. The staff started changing about 4 years ago. They went from wonderful to terrible. I purchased logs from Jewel and brought leftover 2x4 from Home Depot, and wasn't allowed to burn either. Had to buy from them. My 3 yr old grandson became ill and we were allowed 10 min. for my son to pick him up. They were there in 9 min. to tell him to leave. Brought an extra picnic table and had to put back. Sandy is evil. Cancelled our annual 3 reservations this year. Will never go back again!

Room Tip: go to the KOA
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Even sites.
Spacious.
Owners police the park.
A/C in bathrooms. Showers are nice.
Pool ok, but full if kids.
Near Starved Rock.
Wi fi works ok, but if u need it, ask to be by a repeater.
Dump area easy to get to.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We found this lovely campground while searching for an alternative to the local KOA while traveling cross country. We couldn't have been more impressed. The workers at check in were very friendly and looked up a local business name, address and phone number for us as we had blown out a tire about an hour before arriving. After fixing our problem we did get to walk the campground that evening and were totally impressed with the beautiful sites and at how large the campground was. Our pull through for the night was spacious and our internet was good. We also managed to get quite a few channels with our antenna. This will be our new stopping point everytime we travel through Illinois!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Clean campground with nice bathrooms and decent tent camping area. This is a park and walk to your site, primitive camping. My main complaint about this place is the golf cart patrol ever hour. You will have a problem if you want to talk in a normal to quiet voice to your camping mates after 10pm. I camp a few times a year and never experience this. Do not mess with the tree's here either and the I-80 road noise is loud at night. This is a great campground for a family that wants to go to bed around 9pm.

I would not stay here again as I like to put a hammock up off the tree's and not worry about a flashlight shining in my eyes every hour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This campground was clean. Good for a quick weekend(1-2 night stay) if you are planning to go hiking over at Starved Rock or Matthesion State Park.
As you pull into the grounds, all you see are the big RV pull through sites, but once you get back into the tent area it gets more wooded.The sites in the back loop are wooded and actually kinda neat. A few tent sites are in a totally open area with no trees.
Our interaction with the staff was pleasant. They did ask us to take down our clothes line (we were drying our swim suits). They did do a few drive by checks early evening. We sat by the fire until midnight each night and no one bothered us.
Nice to have the pool for hot days, but got very crowded by the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We come here 3 times a year in a travel trailer. The bathrooms are clean, the pool clean & the campground is laid out well. Sites are easy to pull into. It is also right near starved rock state park. There are also many wineries nearby. Wifi isn't great, but why do you need it camping?

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hickory Hollow Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Hollow Campground

Address: 757 North 3029th Road, Utica, IL
Location: United States > Illinois > Utica
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Utica
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory Hollow Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.