We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in C-U” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 West University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
Champaign, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great choice in C-U”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the last several years. It has always been a good experience. Nicely decorated with clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. It is close to campus. There is a Perkins right next door. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you hear you are frequent customers. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    57
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
72
16
15
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Overall, we had a nice 2 night stay here. We had an issue with our heating unit which was fixed after talking to the front desk. That was nice to have prompt service. The bed and pillows were a little too soft for my taste, but the room was clean, the free breakfast was excellent, and the staff was friendly. My only complaint was that the hot tub was a little too cool and not quite bubbly like most hot tubs. Round the clock coffee was a huge plus!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize about the heating problem but happy we were able to fix right away for you. I will make sure have to maintenance check on the temperature on the whirlpool as well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I graduated from the UofI and was coming back down to see some of my friends perform in an a cappella group. I just couldn't bring myself to sleep on one of their couches, so I wanted to find a nice centrally located hotel. This Hampton was right at University and Goodwin, which means it was accessible by bus, taxi, and walking (though it was below zero). The staff were very friendly, the rooms were nice. I didn't use the fitness center or pool, but walking by them, they looked good. I am just a few years out of college, so it was a little bit expensive for my normal tastes, but reasonably priced compared to the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay during your trip to your alma mater the University of Illinois. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I spent about 10 hours on a whirlwind business trip. The only thing I wanted to do was sleep well, and that didn't happen. I could hear creaking and pounding of feet above me. Must be wood frame construction.

Room was clean, staff friendly. But if it takes me more than 30 minutes in bed before I can get to sleep, I can't get too excited about a place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you choose us during your business stay in Champaign/Urbana. I do apolgoize aboutt the noise issue you encountered during your short lived stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we came to visit family for Thanksgiving break. We had a wonderful stay, we were warmly greeted when we arrived. Our room was clean and comfortable and the value was out of this world. We will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for rating us on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you had a great stay during Thanksgiving at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to the Champaign/Urbana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband's family planned a "mini" family reunion in Champaign/Urbana with another family for Thanksgiving. Family members traveled from Georgia, Kentucky, Missouri and the Chicago area for this event. All of the out-of-town (and some of the in-town) family members stayed 2-3 nights at this hotel at a very good rate. The sleeping rooms were great. They were large and very clean. The finishings are very high-end. The service provided by the staff (especially Maria Bailey and Deborah) was outstanding. My teenage daughter enjoyed the pool. The free breakfast is really, really good and it is more than a contential breakfast (eggs, meat, potatoes, pancakes, omelettes, waffles). We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your family reunion. I especially am happy to see that both Maria and Deborah were very friendly and welcoming during your stay. We look forward to hosing your next family reunion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights over the Thanksgiving weekend
This hotel is located just a few blocks from the University of Illinois main campus.
They have very reasonable rates. The lounge area has two computers and a printer for guest to use, also has a large T.V. on the wall.
The rooms were very clean and the decor was beautiful. They have free Wifi, Indoor pool,hot tub, and exercise room. Full breakfast the first day we had bacon, omelette, potatoes,waffles, fresh fruit. The second day we had smoked sausage, eggs, pancakes, they have many choices everyday and the food was good.
The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful.(Maria,Debra, Nicole,Don,and Cynthia. The sales manager (Matt) was very helpful he worked with our family.
If you are in the Champaign- Urbana area I would recommend you stay at the Hampton in Urbana, Illinois. There is a Perkins Restaurant next door.

Room Tip: They have some suites in this hotel and they are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor about your most recent stay with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant time while at our hotel. We all hope to see you again should you travel to the Champaign/Urbana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Address: 1200 West University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.