We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience at the Hampton Inn in Champaign” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 West University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
A TripAdvisor Member
“wonderful experience at the Hampton Inn in Champaign”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel as it was a great experience. All of the employees are very happy, have a great attitude and are very customer focused. Cleanliness, quality of the room product and overall hotel was extremely satisfactory and for visiting the U of I or any reason to be in Champaign the Hampton Inn is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about the friendliness and cleanliness of our hotel. We strive to give all of our guests the same experience that you had. We look forward to welcoming you back should you come back to the Champaign/Urbana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    69
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
79
19
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Felt like a converted ramada or something. Would say a fair price is $70 per room regardless of occupancy but they know they have you cornered. Nice loc on university ave and staff was awesome but property is average at best if you're a frequent traveler to large cities. If you do stay get dinner next door at Mas Amigos. Best part of the stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff we’d like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel. At the same time we are disappointed to learn of your mixed feelings, as we always like to ensure that our guests feel cared for, valued and respected, which is our brand promise. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority and I assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration so that we may find ways to improve our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The stay was excellent. We were able to check in early. The room smelled great when we entered and the beds and linens where very comfortable. The breakfast was great - a nice selection to choose from. The location of the hotel was perfect - right across from the University. We could walk to our meeting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Enjoyed a great stay with family. We travel a lot for my son's wrestling and we are always looking for the best deal willing to sacrifice a bit of quality. No sacrifices here! Everything was great. I wouldn't change a thing, Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time you make a trip to the Champaign/Urbana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Champaign for two nights. I thought it was too pricey, so we stayed at a cheaper hotel the first night (I was not satisfied). I wished I would have booked the two days at the Hampton, it would have been well worth it. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are happy you stayed with us during your trip to Champaign/Urbana. I’m sorry to hear you were not satisfied at the first hotel you stayed at, but happy to know you stayed with us your second night and were more then pleased with our accommodations. We hope that when you come to the Champaign/Urbana area again we will be your first choice to stay at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Made a late decision to stay here and staff was very helpful. We had a great room and a wonderful sleep. We would stay here again. We forgot some hanging clothes in the room and they are going to send them to us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Debra and Don, the evening staff there were very rude. I just came in from driving 4 hours in a snowstorm and had to wait 20 minutes to get my room key. She was unsympathetic and just talked about how crazy it had been for her the last couple of hours! My daughter and I came down later at 10:50pm to use the whirlpool and we couldn't get it to turn on. I asked Debra to please help, but she never came. I went back out and both Don and Debra said it's closed. Don came back to the pool area and shaking his head pointed to the sign. We checked out that morning to tour U of IL; that's why we stayed there. They should have a discount program with the college. I don't feel we got our $150 worth! :(

Room Tip: Make your reservation in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I am so sorry that you had a disappointing experience with our staff. I am extremely disappointed you found our staff members to be unprofessional and rude towards you. Our main goal is for every guest to feel cared for, valued and respected. I truly regret that our staff did not provide you with the level of customer service you deserve. I have personally spoken to our staff and guarantee this will not happen again. I can assure you that our guest satisfaction is very important to us and I will make sure that your comments be taken into consideration to improve our property. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Address: 1200 West University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.