We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent clean and comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 West University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
South Padre Island, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent clean and comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wedding party, my husband, and I recently stayed at this hotel and found that it exceeded our expectations in every way. My guests commented on the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, the pleasant sales, front desk and breakfast staff, and calm yet convenient atmosphere. I travel for work all over the world and recognize a well-run hotel when I see one; this one definitely exceeds expectations. I recommend this facility and will use it again the next time family or friends are in-town. Truly excellent!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites have great views of UIUC campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We certainly appreciate all the wonderful comments about our hotel. We hope to see you again should you come back to the Champaign/Urbana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    69
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
79
19
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were thinking we'd never find a nice place near the University of Illinois when we found this hotel. It's right across the street from campus and a lot newer than the other hotels in the area..

The front desk people were great, especially Kevin who went far beyond what I've ever experienced, and I've travelled for years on business. The place is unbelievably clean and looked brand new.

We travelled with two teens. Our two-bedroom suite was clean and well stocked, including a set of sheets that were made to fit the sofa bed. There were 2 TVs, all flat panel.

The pool was very nice, as was the spa. The breakfast area was top-notch with a wide variety of choices, not just cereal and Danish. There were cookies and fruit in the lobby all day too.

This was a great stay and we'll come back again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Palos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I am always kind of leary when going out of town on business and staying somewhere that I've never been. This was a huge surprise. My room was amazing and very clean. The bedroom was seperate from the living area which made me feel more at home. All of the staff that I encountered were extremely friendly and more than helpful. I knew when I arrived that this stay was going to be great. The outside was well kept and when I walked into the lobby to check in it was almost like walking into my own home; warm and inviting. Needless to say that the hot breakfast was great also. I definately will suggest this hotel if ever I am sent to this area on business again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I can't imagine a better hotel, this close to campus. The hotel is within walking distance to campus. The hotel feels very modern, the service was excellent, and the room was very clean. If you want cheap with a bed, this is not the place. However, if you enjoy your stay at the university and your hotel, then this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed over on a Friday night. Great location for access to the University (across the street) or either downtown Champaign or downtown Urbana (both only about a mile away). Room was exceptionally we appointed with one of the best computer chairs and wall unit (both indirect and direct lighting and plenty of access to outlets if you need to plug in 3-4 chargers!). Staff was professional and very pleasant. If you didn’t have a car, there was a Perkins Restaurant next, or an easy drive to any number of other places. Breakfast was more than adequate with usual cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit bowl, juices, muffins, bagels, breads, three hot items (an egg/ham/cheese dish, French toast sticks, or sausages), and a toaster and waffle maker.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here on a Friday night prir to attending granddaughters gymnatic meet on Saturday. Hotel was exception clean,the rooms were clean and comfortable,looked like they might've recently updated the hotel. Desk staff were very friendly,however,missed getting the free cookies other guests had mentioned in their reviews? Only downside was noise late at night in the hallways.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevators nor ice machine. Inconsiderate guests were very noisy late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a basketball game. Front desk staff was great on check in. All staff I came in to contact with seemed very knowledgeable and friendly. All knew directions to the basketball arena. Room was clean and quiet, which is what I want. I did get the fresh, warm cookies on check-in. Typical Hampton breakfast, but I know what to expect. I did eat one meal at the Perkins next door and got a 10% discount for showing my room key. Even got free local newspapers, which made me happy since I was there on a weekend.

Room Tip: I asked for room on high floor, away from elevator and ice machine. My room fit those requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Address: 1200 West University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.