We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty conditions” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1908 N. Lincoln Ave., Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
Grand Marsh, Wisconsin
1 review
“Dirty conditions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel is very dirty. There are large stains on the carpeting in the hallway, black mold in the swimming pool and black mold in the shower in the room we stayed in. The overall condition of the hotel is old and rundown. After contacting Choice Hotels about the poor condition of the hotel, they added an extra 2000 points to our account. However, the hotel itself did not respond to my complaint which was forwarded to them by Choice Hotels. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkel, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Please accept our sincere apology for the conditions you found in your room, the pictures you posted does not show what the issues truly are. What you reported as black mold was where caulk was missing in the shower area and the black you posted for the pool area was some dirt that was not cleaned up and has been cleaned since. Again please accept our sincere apology and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Steven Luchik, CHA
Operations Manager for Appex Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
18
19
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel was clean, and employees were friendly and helpful. The only complaint that I have is that after we checked out and looked at our account online, there was a $6.05 charge for incidentals that were not on our receipt. I immediately called the hotel and they said it was an incidental charge which would probably be removed in 7-10 business days, and that I could have my bank call them to take it off sooner. I have never heard of this charge, and I have traveled a lot. It seems very deceptive to add a charge on after we checked out and signed the bill.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkel, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear SC,

Thank You for your great rating of your stay with us and I am sorry that you did not see that a 1.50 incidental charge for the in room safe is posted for each day of your stay. This charge is removed at check out if the guest lets us know they did not use the safe but this must not have been the case for your stay with us. If you will let us know the date of your stay and the name we will gladly issue a credit for this charge. Again thank you for your great comments and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Steven Luchik, CHA
Operation Manager for Appex Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a solid place for a short term stay near University of Illinois. I base my 4 star rating mainly on the room quality and breakfast. Location is nothing special (on a busy street) but it is near the Interstate exit. Not too far from campus either. Good, clean accommodation with a staff that is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkel, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Clinton,

Thank You for your very nice review and we hope you will consider our hotel your home away from home when visiting in Champaign/Urbana, Illinois.

Sincerely,

Steve Luchik, CHA
Operations Manager for appex Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

DO NOT stay here! This place is just falling apart and the owner is obviously using improperly trained maintenance staff trying to slap band aids on everything that is needing professional repair. The room I stayed in had a broken toilet, every room in the hotel had a non working bathroom exhaust fan (according to the front desk staff, for quite some time apparently) an HVAC unit that just wouldn't work properly, stains in the sheets and bedspreads, stains in the carpeting of the room and hallways, dirt and dust in almost every nook and cranny of the room and public areas of the hotel. The place looks like it was just recently painted by some college kids looking for some quick cash. The continental breakfast is just a joke, any gas station has better breakfast! I originally had two nights reserved for here since I was doing electrical work in the area but cancelled the second night and moved across the street to the Comfort Suites for a much, much, much, better room and totally worth it for only $20 more than this crappy hotel! I was reassured by Jamie at the front desk that I would not be charged for two nights but of course was still charged for two nights that I'm still fighting to have corrected! So if you want to have a crappy nights rest tossing and turning in a crappy hotel next to an abandoned gas station and junkyard in a place that is pretty nasty this is your place to be, if not just go across the street to the Comfort Suites!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkel, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sparky,

I have read your review and I must say that I was surprised by your comments since most of our reviews on trip advisor are very good to excellent as you can clearly see. It is true that some of our guestroom bathrooms do not have an exhaust fan but most of our rooms to have working exhaust fans. Our breakfast exceeds that Choice hotels standards for breakfast so I was very surprised to your comments. So I will just say that we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and hope you exjoy your stay at another hotel on your next visit to Champaign Urbana.

Sincerely,

Steve Luchik,CHA
Operations Manager for Appex Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This Sleep Inn was my second choice. I have stayed several times at the Comfort Suites across the street. I was not disappointed. The desk staff was very helpful, both at check in and the next day. Our room was quiet and the motelbwas full. The room was clean and comfortable. A rollaway was waiting as promised and we were not disturbed prior to our requested late check out time. It was a fine, serviceable stay. Cleaner and better kept up than many Choice discounted motels. I didn't use the pool or have breakfast, but a fine stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkel, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear MYM,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Champaign/Urbana.

Sincerely,

Steve Luchik, CHA
Operations Manager for Appex Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very run down. No fan in bathroom. Towels were the size of pool towels. Room smelled very strongly of air freshener, what are they hiding? Neighbors were very loud and could easily be heard through walls that are paper thin. Breakfast only til 9am on a Sunday. Mattress old, wallpaper in bad shape. Yuck. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkel, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Please accept our sincere apology for not living up to the standards that you expected from our hotel
. I have passed on all of your comments to our owner to correct as many of the issues that we can. As you know there is nothing we can do regarding your comment about the thin walls. The towels we have in our rooms are the required towels that our Choice Hotels franchise require again please accept our sincere apology and we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Steven J. Luchik, CHA
General Manager
Sleep Inn
Urbana, IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Cassidy was an enormous help after a nightmarish stay we had at Econo Lodge in Clarksville, Tn. She was courteous, helpful and knowledgeable. Loved the entire stay! They breakfast bar provided a variation of nutritional choices for breakfast. Hotel was extremely clean and updated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkel, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind words to reflect your satisifaction with your stay at our hotel. I hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Luchik, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 1908 N. Lincoln Ave., Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Urbana
Sleep Inn Urbana, IL - Champaign-Urbana
Urbana Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.