We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courier Cafe...Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Courier Cafe

The Courier Cafe
111 N Race St, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2625
217-328-1811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Urbana
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Courier Cafe...Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I had some errands to run and decided to stop at the Courier for lunch with my 15 year old. We arrived at 10:50 and the waitress gave us breakfast menus. I informed her that we were there for lunch and was willing to wait 10 minutes. My daughter ordered the original chicken salad served on a croissant with fries. I had a burger with cheddar cheese with fries and the salad bar. The salad bar was amazing. Everything was crisp and fresh. They weigh the plate of salad it's .32 cents an ounce. My salad was 1.92. The food arrived at our table promptly and the portions were huge. The burger was so juicy and cooked just right. I'd say best burgers in town. My daughter enjoyed her chicken salad as well. For all the food we got, including the salad bar, the bill was just under $18. We had water to drink and did not purchase drinks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    51
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
“Good dinner for low price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is my favorite place for inexpensive yet good dinner. Burgers and sandwiches and soups are good. Baked potato / sweet potato are also good. Their ice-cream and hand made shake are fantastic. Tonight my husband and I had a very delicious dinner for just $15!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“History and a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant does a great job of preserving history and telling it's story. It's varied menu also includes brief explanations of the historical accents that are placed in the restaurant. From the old brass lamp to the possibly first cash register, there is lots to see and learn about. The food is plentiful and good. The steak was cooked as requested, and the fried chicken was too much to eat at one time. The service was very satisfactory and this was a great value for the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food but not a pleasant waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I enjoy The Courier Cafe and have gone there many times over many years. The reason for the not giving an "excellent" rating is due to the poor service we received. It seemed that we were putting out our server. When I asked for a refill on my coffee, which I had to do after waiting quite a while to see if she offered it, she was not pleasant. This kind of behavior was a part of our entire experience. This instance was for breakfast with three friends. While the Cafe was busy, there were not people lined at the door waiting to be served.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I've been eating at the Courier Cafe for 10 years and it never disappoints. They have the best milkshakes you will ever taste, their hamburgers are perfection, salad bar is fresh and you pay by weight, and all their entrees are unique and just plain delicious.

Every time I come to town, Courier Cafe is an absolute must.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courier Cafe also viewed

Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
 
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to The Courier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.