We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic building with a great salad bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Courier Cafe

The Courier Cafe
111 N Race St, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2625
217-328-1811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 90 restaurants in Urbana
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historic building with a great salad bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Courier has something for everyone on their menu, including a salad bar purchased by weight. Order a milk shake, they do them the old fashion way and serve you the leftovers in the stainless steel tumbler.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    55
    45
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We rarely think of going to the Courier Cafe for breakfast but we did today and have to say that the gingerbread pancakes are out of this world! We are never disappointed by any offerings here at the Courier!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“nice place for any meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went for lunch on Saturday after Thanksgiving and were expecting to wait for a table but our party of five was seated nearly immediately. I like the salad bar to go with a meal and the attentive servers. I was slightly annoyed by the server asking for our plates when some of us were still chewing our food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love fest with the Courier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I love the Courier. The atmosphere is nostalgic and warm, the food is superb. I love the Darcy burger and skinny dips. Wonderful

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Local treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you plan to visit the Courier Cafe on a weekend for breakfast or lunch, be prepared for a bit of a wait. It is one of the most popular places in town. And there is a good reason for that!

The Courier is a delightful independent restaurant serving great food in a lovely atmosphere. Take time to read the back of the menu and learn about all the various antiques decorating the restaurant. I love the Pullman lights in the wooden booths giving a warm glow to the table.

The Courier has great breakfast options, although my visits have been more for lunch. They have excellent soups and a wide variety of sandwiches. The salad bar is always very fresh, and has a wide variety of ingredients. One interesting thing is that the salad bar is sold by weight, so if you just want a side salad, or want to heap your plate full, you pay accordingly. I think that is very fair.

My favorite sandwich is the turkey club. The burgers are also great. Don't forget to try milkshake made the old-fashioned way and served to you along with the metal cup it was mixed in! They are the best. If you have room the "Misprint" Hot Fudge Sundae is a generous scoop of ice cream served with the warmed hot fudge on the side for a low price. It is enough to share, but I rarely want to . . .

The staff is always friendly and attentive. You can't go wrong at the Courier!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courier Cafe also viewed

Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to The Courier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.