We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience extraordianaire!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Illini Union Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Urbana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Illini Union Hotel
Save
You added Illini Union Hotel to your Saves list
1401 West Green Street, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenience extraordianaire!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We attended an admitted-student day event recently. The event registration started at 8:15 am, so after a satisfactory continental breakfast, we were just a quick elevator ride to the main event. Not having to make the drive from the suburbs in the wee morning hours, priceless! It was so convenient staying on campus, plus the added bonus of having a parking spot at the union all day. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom water pressure was weak, and the shampoo & conditioner provided were in a teeny, tiny pouch. I would suggest bringing your own or asking for additional pouches, if there are more than two people in the room. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
15
7
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on a college visit, and it was the perfect choice.

Check in was smooth and professional -- there is no hassle getting here as you pull up right in front of the building, and parking is close by.

Our room was neat, clean and had a beautiful view overlooking the quad. If you are a business traveler, you might miss having a bar and nice restaurant on site-- however we were there for the campus experience.

It was a blast. A student improv group was playing in the main gathering area downstairs. A block away we had access to a vibrant commercial area with plenty of places to eat and shop.

The hotel itself is upstairs, and we had no issues with sound on the 4th floor. A continental breakfast is provided.. and while not fancy, it was much appreciated.

From the union, we walked to our campus tour site and admissions presentation. One of the best perks of staying here -- we were able to leave our car in the student union lot until 6pm the day we checked out. That left us free to explore campus without worrying about where to park.

One other little perk -- a great selection of cable channels, including one highlighting the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. We saw some terrific short films by students that were very funny.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, which was great. I don't know if the third floor might have noise iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a visit to the University of Illinois campus and it was extremely convenient. I was concerned that parking might be an issue as is typical on campus, but I was able to park right outside the entrance to the union. My room was very clean, but the rooms are in need of renovation--the bathrooms particularly showed their age. Don't expect luxury at this hotel, but the service was great and it was a very convenient place to stay for a trip to campus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, General Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for the kind words. If your child chooses Illinois we'll hopefully see you for the next four years! I couldn't agree witrh you more regarding the bathrooms- they top our "to do" list. Enjoy the college selection process!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is located right on the campus so if one has to visit the school-UIUC- it would be perfect. I don't see why anyone would stay here other than that reason. The room was clean and quiet. Small room size, though. Within the hotel, there are small shops and eateries that you can grab quick snacks if you do not feel like going out but they are not sit down quality places. One thing that didn't help us was the wi-if situation. Their public access was broken down so that was a major inconvenience. Overall, it was a good location for us because we were visiting the school but it is just an average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Wehope that we can be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Illini Union hotel puts you right @ the heart of the campus ... Within walking distance of great restaurants and surrounded by the sights and sounds of university students in action on the Quad.

The rooms are a bit tired, it took awhile for hot water to arrive in the shower head, and the continential breakfast was average.

However, for us, location trumped datedness. It was a great place to stay for a night after watching a women's soccer match, and brilliant to show our children, from an up-close vantage point campus we once attended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for staying here and for your candid review. While it seems like only yesterday since we remodeled it'sreally been since 2009 so yes we are looking at refurbishing some things.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a work trip, paid by the university. First impression was pretty good - slow check in but friendly, happily gave us a parking pass ahead of when our room was ready, room clean and completely serviceable. They also gave us a choice of rooms when we checked in and we chose a quad view room. HOWEVER... When we returned from dinner around 9:30 there was very loud music and DJing outside our window on the quad. Now, we understand it is a college campus and we waited until 10:30 then decided to call the front desk to find out how long it would be going on. No one answered the phone - apparently they just done staff the desk overnight?? Not only that, but they had ample opportunity to warn us about the noise when they offered us a choice of rooms. It would have been easy to say that the quad room would be noiser... Nope, nothing. Loud music on a college campus I understand. Failure to warn us, total unavailability when we needed assistance... Totally unacceptable to me. Not worth the convenient location or the money. Seriously. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

we were visiting the u of I. it was a room on the third floor of the student union. a perfect place to stay! we arrived the night before our tour and walked around and enjoyed the beautiful university grounds. the next day we were able to use the university gym- it needs a little face lift, as does the student union, but the rooms were very nice. our room was very comfortable and included a good continental breakfast across from our room. on these trips we usually stay in hamptons or fairfields and this was just as good.
we had a tour the next day so having the car parked - no charge- and right near the info session and tour was perfect! urbana champagne downtown is very cute and enough to do for an overnight.
front dest staff are students or employees but were really helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Illini Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illini Union Hotel

Address: 1401 West Green Street, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within one of the most iconic buildings on the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s campus – the Illini Union – is the newly remodeled Illini Union Hotel. This boutique hotel offers 74 rooms, including two VIP suites, and is the perfect location for anyone looking to make the most of their stay in Champaign-Urbana. In addition to 27 meeting rooms, the Union also offers a plethora of food and entertainment options throughout the building. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Illini Union Hotel Urbana, IL - Champaign-Urbana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Illini Union Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.