We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in U of I area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1003 Killarney Street, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Urbana
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good choice in U of I area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Never had a bad experience at any HI Express. This was no exception. Nice and clean, Comfy bedding. Good service, Adequate workout facility (and nice and cool), but it would have been better if it had some weights or at least medicine balls. Breakfast was fine. Easy access. Not much around there for restaurants in walking range. Very well maintained given it was not a new property. I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
9
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arbor Vitae, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

After traveling for nearly 8 hours with my daughters, and LEAVING a neighboring hotel due to ANTS, I was relieved that this hotel had a room for us! The rooms are spacious, clean, and in my opinion a great deal, and the continental breakfast had many options for even the pickiest eaters! The pool was very clean and hot tub accommodating! We did stay here on our return of our out of town trip as well! The second shift desk clerk was exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a clean property and exactly what we have come to expect of a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

very good experience in all regards. Rooms clean and nice. B'fast was good - but ran a little short of some items close to shutdown time.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were in town for a wedding, met by busloads of soccer players and parents who came for a weekend tournament. Still, the hallways at night were relatively quiet (I guess the kids were tired out). Our third-floor king suite was very clean, comfortable, and cool. Check-in was easy, and check-out at nearly noon was no problem. We simply hung the “quiet please” card on the door, and the housekeeping never bothered us, even after stepping out for brunch. There’s plenty of parking here, with easy access to I-74 via Lincoln Ave.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the river in Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here while attending the Illinois Basketball Banquet. The reviews had this hotel better than the Holiday Inn where the banquet was being held. So I chose to stay here. When getting ready for bed I saw an ant crawling on my pillow. I looked further and found the source was the floor and wall behind the night stand. I called to the front desk. The guest service host Audra was very nice and told me she would switch our room. I was to tired to pack everything up and just dealt with it.We did get $20 bucks off of our bill the next morning at check-out. But needless to say I didn't sleep real well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffedwards, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area), responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent reply. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the issue that you experienced during your recent stay. We strive to give the best service and product possible and in this instance we failed to provide this to you, our most valued guest. I have taken the liberty of working with our housekeeping and maintenance departments and together we have put procedures in place to ensure that what occurred with your room does not happen to another guest. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is through the input of our valued guest's that allows us to have the high quality and service that we strive to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband & I used to live in Urbana and were in town visiting friends for a night The hotel's website says the hotel is "Downtown/City Center.” There aren't really any hotels that are downtown or in the city center, but the HIE is a bit further from things. The areas between the hotel and the U of I, downtown Champaign, downtown Urbana, or the mall aren't the greatest. Close drive, not really walkable or anything. The only nearby restaurant is a truck stop/road side diner type place called Urbana Gardens. There are much more convenient areas to stay in Champaign. If you really want to stay in Urbana this place isn't awful.

Check-in was a bit slow but fine. I was really surprised that this hotel has one smallish loud elevator, which probably leads to frustration on busy weekends. Our room had two queen-sized beds. The bathroom was pretty basic with a pretty granite counter top. I was surprised the room had a small non-LCD TV. The room was large, other than two queen beds, there was also a chair, dresser w/ the TV, and a desk.

My first issue was with the cleanliness. The bedding seemed clean, as did the towels, but the room could use some real deep cleaning. The carpet was very stained. I don't know if anyone has tried to clean it, but it either needs to be cleaned or replaced. I refused to not have my shoes on the whole time. The bathroom was also not in great shape. The tub had a few hairs in it. My big issue was that all of the corners of the room had a collection of dust & hair stuck in them. Not huge dust bunnies, but enough that wiping it with a Clorox wiped cleaned it up easily enough (housekeeping might try this). I'd say what a broom, mop, or vacuum can't do housekeeping leaves on the floor.

While the beds were comfy and had the usual Holiday Inn pillow assortment, I did not sleep well. Our room was on the second floor on the back side of the hotel. Unfortunately, the back of the hotel is too close to I-74. All night I heard road noise. Lucky the highway isn't too busy I guess. In addition, the heat/ac unit was kind of loud and ran too much. We didn't have any issues hearing other guests but the hotel also didn't seem too full. We also didn't have any issues with water pressure in the bathroom, just a problem that our showerhead leaked where it connected to the pipe, which caused water to hit the faucet and splash out of the tub (yes solvable with an extra hand towel on the edge of the tub, but another long-term care issue).

Breakfast was fine. Scrambled eggs (not the preformed kind, but probably from a carton), very overdone super thin buffet style bacon, yogurt, cereal, toast, juice, oatmeal, coffee, biscuits & gravy, etc. Of course the normal HIE cinnamon rolls, yum. There was the pancake machine thing also. The machine at this HIE made rather pale, non-fluffy, rubber-like discs. YouTube leads me to believe that other machines make the pancakes a bit darker/more cooked looking, but the machine at this location makes me wish that I had a camera at breakfast. The outside was pale and barely browned; the inside was just as flat and smooth as the outside and resulted in something that neither my husband nor I wanted to eat.

I don’t know that I’d stay at this hotel again. I just think there are probably more convenient locations that are a bit cleaner. Furthermore, the price isn’t great. Maybe if you stay only at HIEs this is the place for you. If you need to be on the north side of Urbana right off the Lincoln Ave exit, I guess this might be the best option. Otherwise, they’d have to clean it up a bit for me to want to stay again. I just really don’t find redeeming qualities. In the future I'd probably stay in Champaign.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot, on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area)

Address: 1003 Killarney Street, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area) 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Champaign-Urbana, IL (U of I Area) home of the University of Illinois! We are pleased to offer free high-speed Internet access and are 100% non-smoking. While staying with us join us for our famous Express Start breakfast which includes hot items as well as the world s best tasting cinnamon rolls. Located by the university access corridor, Lincoln Avenue, you are a short two mile drive from the heart of the University of Illinois, including the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts, the Spurlock Museum, Campbell Alumni Center, Mills Breast Cancer Institute, U of I Admissions and Records, Beckman Institute and Illini Union and Memorial Stadium - home of Fighting Illini football and the University of Illinois Assembly Hall. Also near the Holiday Inn Express in Urbana are the quaint downtowns of Urbana and Champaign, the local Amtrak station, FlightStar and Frasca (C16) International Airports. Closest Airport: U of I Willard Airport (CMI) Closest hospitals: Carle Foundation Hospital/Carle Clinic & Provena Covenant Medical Center We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Champaign/Urbana a success. We re the Holiday Inn Express! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Urbana-Champaign (u Of i Area)
Holiday Inn Urbana
Urbana Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U Of I Area) IL - Champaign-Urbana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.