We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do even in the rainy season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Top Explorer

Tree Top Explorer
Green Discovery, Paksong, Laos
856 21 264 680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Paksong
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Try out the new Tree Top Explorer – and be awarded with the experience of a lifetime in the jungle of southern Laos. It is all about adventure and fun, it is about immersing yourself in nature. The zip-line gives you an exhilarating rush! 'Fly' over deep ravines, in almost touching distance to the roaring water wall or the green roof of the forest. Enjoy the sensation of being weightless. The gorges are as gorgeous as the views are stunning. An unrivaled experience, with adrenaline levels reaching for the high - guaranteed! Trek in pristine forest and through coffee plantations. Discover the hidden world of the forest canopy from a sky-high walkway. Experience our jaw-dropping but safe via ferrata. Still eager for more adventure? Then go for 'abseiling' - even in the waterfall. It's all there!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must do even in the rainy season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Although it was raining a lot the second day we would still do it again (even for the price). Before we even started our trip around the world we knew that this is probably going to be the atraction for which we will not mind paying those 150 euros. And the rain...it just added on more "jungle" experience.

The guides were great, one of theme spoke very good english and we had interesting talk about lao life after dinner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique experience and shower in a waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Not only do you get to fly through the treetops, whizz by torchlight to your cabin for the night, you get to walk in the forest with the Lao guides. They have a huge sense of fun, laughing so much when my face ended up splattered with mud, but kind and helpful too. Their singing as they walk isa bonus. After we arrived we had choice of indoor or outdoor shower...all 6 of us chose the waterfall option, very invigorating.
It rained on the second day, but that did not spoil our fun, just speeds up the zip lines!
I am not a fan of heights, yet by looking straight ahead, I managed fine and was looking at the views by zipwire 4.
Pack lightly in waterproof bags as you carry everything with you. You can leave spare kit at the office.
It is worth being reasonably fit, and not mind mud, but don't hesitate....just GO.
There is a long review by aglaure a few below this one which gives even more detail.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolute must-do adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

after reading Gibbon experiences mixed reviews, we opted for Green Discovery's Tree Top Explorer. prices start at about 360US dollars, and get cheaper the more people sign up.

reserving was a bit tedious since they still use paper forms via fax/scanning, but that was not an issue considering the adventure to follow. you can make arrangements in country in Vientienne or Luang Prabang if you are in that neighborhood.

pick up point is in Pakse. they pickup and drop off at your hotel.

the experience itself was a wet, rainy, splendid event. we started at the village before the park for lunch, donned our harnesses, and slogged through some wet rainforest for about 2-3 hours for our first zipline across a massive waterfall. once you're over the jitters, you actually can open your eyes to enjoy the view. several more ziplines, long ones, follow, all with breathtaking views. the day ends back at camp, which is a large platform and series of walkways above the ground.
the next day is more hiking, about 45min to the first of 2 more ziplines. these are the longest ziplines....up to 350meters. exhilirating! and since the weather was nice, we all opted to do them twice. lunch is a hike to a gorgeous waterfall, and the guides set out a splendid lunch on banana leaves.
on the day out, it was raining too much to do rappelling, so we hiked to the top of the waterfall mtn. Literally bushwhaking up the side of the hill...no trail, just up, up, up. i found it amazing.
once at the top, a buddhist village awaits and then basically another hour to hike back to the village and the awaiting mini-van.

lodging is amazing, staying in tree houses. the tree houses must be zipped into and they have all you need...a toilet, sink, a lounge area, and up to 4 beds with mosquito nets. there is power, but they cut it off as soon as everyone is in their tree house.

they serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner, which is all very, very good, along with coffee and tea. you can opt for vegetarian options as well. just a few tips....bring clothes that dry easily and that you can wear multiple times. toothbrush, paste, and since they only bring in just enough toilet paper, we were glad we brought a little extra. headlamp/flashlight, camera, bug spray to keep the leeches off. if you are not cool with big bugs, this will be a problem as the night insects are huge! cash to tip your guides is nice.

the safety factor was of utmost importance to us. their record is 100%, but besides that, the guides (2 whose english was non-existant), and our main guide whom spoke good english, were very, very cautious. they checked and double checked our gear every time we clipped in to every single zipline. they were all extremely friendly and professional, and i felt completely confident with them.

prices can be steep, but even the backpackers on our trip said they didn't mind forking out the money for such an unforgettable experience!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tread on less explored greenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Though tedious, we had a great time trekking, zipping across streams and doing via ferrata. I liked best was via ferrata. After the climb, we were at the top which is about 1,200+m high. During our 2 nights' stay, we stayed at the tree top which was a whole new experience for us!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hands down the coolest thing we have ever done on vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband has a bit of an issue with heights so getting him to take our family of six (kids ages 19, 16, 14, and 10) on a tree top adventure took some heavy negotiating so I didn't dare tell the kids that they could encounter leeches during the rainy season or I would never get anyone to go.

The van ride is a bit long and bumpy so as we drove further and further from civilization I began to worry about what I had gotten our family into. We arrived at the staging area, a tiny very clean little village with a very basic shop where you can buy basics like rain ponchos, cookies, drinks, and bananas. The turkish toilets are spotless so use them as they will be the last you see until you get to camp.

The hike took us through a misty jungle so dense that we expected King Kong to come running through the bushes at any moment. We followed our guides over rocks and under bamboo along a very faint trail. We crossed the river on rope bridges and flew through the rain forest past waterfalls on zip lines and never once feared for our safety. Our fantastic english-speaking lead guide (Home) was serious about safety and made sure all of our harnesses were correctly attached at every phase of our trip.

Lunch on banana leaves on the ground in a beautiful clearing was magical, delicious, and plentiful. Our other meals at camp were equally delicious. They even had vegetarian options for some other people traveling in our group. The warm fire at camp was desperately needed to dry our wet shoes and clothes as it rained a lot but I think it only added to the adventure.

If you are planning on going during rainy season do not let the rain deter you but bring a change of clothes in a Ziploc plastic bag in case. The leeches weren't an issue for us but we use bug repellant before we left so that may have helped. One person in our group had one on his ankle but it wasn't painful, plus they are tiny.

The tree houses are very basic but definitely sufficient and waking up to the sights and sounds of the rain forest with no door or windows to separate you from nature is a unique experience. If you are traveling with children it is perfectly safe. You can sleep a maximum of 4 people in a house so my husband and our 14 year-old son had a 2 person tree house and I slept with the 3 girls. At night something moving around the branches would cause a gentle jiggling of our treehouse but the hike had worn us out enough so we barely though about it before drifting off to sleep.

The hike back was beautiful and never too strenuous. To climb out of the jungle we climbed up a cliff face in complete safety and security. A few people in our group were scared but our guides placed themselves between the nervous climbers and all made it to the top without a problem. My husband who was so nervous at the beginning never worried once. The minute he saw how seriously the take safety he was free to just enjoy, which he did immensely.

We have travelled the world over with our kids so it says a lot when I recently asked our kids what their favorite vacation experience was, and Tree Top Explorer was number one for all of them.

Do it. Don't hesitate. You will bond, you will laugh, and you will create fantastic memories! You will not regret a second. We booked the whole thing online and just went to their office in Paksong at the designated arrival time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Top Explorer also viewed

 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Champasak Province, Laos
 

Been to Tree Top Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Top Explorer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tree Top Explorer to your Saves list