We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donley's Wild West Town

Donley's Wild West Town
8512 South Union Road, Union, IL 60180
815-923-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Union
Attraction details
McHenry, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Run by very nice family for years, it has lots for kids and a very decent restauarant now attached, too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great fun for a family with young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Wild West Town was a lot of fun with our family (children ages 2 - 9). Upon entering, you go through a museum of wild west items which is really neat, however the prize of the collection is a lot of old record players and records, most of which are Edison's. There are a lot of things to do in the park including riding an small gauge train, a small roller coaster which my 2 year old thought was the best ride ever, sling shot shooting, archery and even panning for "gold" (actually pyrite). The kids really enjoyed the panning for "gold" but got quite wet doing it. You get a certain number of tickets for the attractions when you enter, and they are more than sufficient for a day's worth of activity, though you only get two per ticket for the pony rides. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The wild west show was a lot of fun to watch and was well acted. Small children might be surprised by the sound as they fire blanks. The onsite restaurant / steakhouse was surprisingly good and reasonably priced. We ended up spending the whole day here the kids had so much fun, and we'd go back again the next time we are in the area. It is worth the drive!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple fun for all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our day at Wild West Town. It has lots of different attractions for kids and it's not too large. My son is 7 and had a great time with the archery and panning for gold, among other things. Didn't try the rollercoaster - sounded a bit rough. The staff were so friendly and it's no easy job being out in the heat all day in jeans, cowboy hat and boots. We are at their restaurant. The food and service were great and I felt like it was a good value too. I would highly recommend this park that takes you away from all things electronic and let's your kids use their bodies and their imaginations!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Something Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

No shade! It can get really hot here especially when you are watching the wild west show and you sit on metal bleachers with no shade - not so fun! My two daughters had fun dressing up for the photos and enjoyed the horse ride and other activities.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great for young ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We visited on a pleasant day in August with our twin 3 1/2 year olds along with some friends who have twin 3 year olds and a 5 year old. The activities were great for the pre-school and early elementary school aged kids. There were several short rides, including a very tame (though bone jarring if you are lucky enough to be the adult to accompany the too-short-to-ride-by-themselves kids) roller coaster, a ground level log flume, pony rides, hand carts, and a train. None of it would be very exciting to those over around 8, but for this age, it was just right. There are several games as well. They are all included with the price of admission. Technically, you are given a limit as you have a punch card for all of them, but between the kids' tickets and the adults' tickets, the kids for all intents and purposes had unlimited rides. The Wild West show is cute and very child appropriate, including a safety talk about guns before hand by the sheriff. The food at the Steakhouse is fine, though nothing to race to Union to grab.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donley's Wild West Town also viewed

Been to Donley's Wild West Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donley's Wild West Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.