We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant for a small town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Potros

Los Potros
208 North Parke Street, Tuscola, IL
217-253-6750
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Tuscola
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hampton, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant for a small town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We decided to try this somewhat out of the way restaurant while overnighting in Tuscola. It was a good decision. It a little off the interstate but not too far and well worth driving into the historic part of town. The food was great, server was nice and building was funky cool. Three of us all enjoyed our meals and it seems to be quite popular with the locals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Same thing... different price...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Everytime I eat here I order the same thing, yet always a different price when I pay. The last time I was there I had about 20 ants crawling all over the wall next to me!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscola, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I love Mexican food! I have tried Mexican restruants all over the country and Los Potros is the best! The service is excellent! Food quickly served no waiting - a real plus!
Generous portions and always served hot.
The staff is very helpful and assists us with our Spanish - lots of fun!
Our favorite place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“COULD'NT BE BETTER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is one great place. Food is ALWAYS hot, served super fast and the best Mexican food we have ever had. Great margaritas...try the frozen. The servers are Mexican and very, very friendly, always anxious to please. They always greet you with a smile on their face. If you speak Spanish, even better, but they will help you with the language which is soooooo helpful. We have been to Mexican restaurants in Mexico, Texas, and various other cities...THIS ONE IS THE BEST by far.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Every time in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I eat here. Place seems also to be a local favorite. If you're staying in a hotel in Tuscola ( like I am ) looking for a "real" Mexican Resturant , come here

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Potros also viewed

 

Been to Los Potros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Potros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.