We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cranmore Tower

Cranmore Tower
Old Wells Road | Cranmore Woods, Cranmore, England
+44 (0) 1749 880 742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Cranmore
Attraction details
Crewkerne
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful walk through the woods,to an amazing towering spire,180 steps to the top,and the the views are superb.on a clear you can see 6/8counties the Brunel river seven bride,Priddy,the Mendips,Quarries,reservoirs and the most beautiful countryside etc, I met the owner,who is the most hospitable host,with a great vision.Good luck to him!
Check out my photo's on viewbug (jasonrodway)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

well worth a visit.
we went up with a 12 yr old girl, a 14 year old boy and a 7 year old labrador.
There is a fantastic view overlooking Cranmore with its beautifull church and fantastic pub which is also well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An afternoon at Cranmore Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a spare afternoon and the weather was very warm and humid so we decided to visit a local attraction to us, Cranmore Tower.
The website for the Tower suggests parking in an area half a mile to the north of the attraction, just off a road locally known as the Old Wells Road, in a
woodland parking area just about large enough for 5 or 6 cars! Apparently there is vehicle access to the tower from the south, near Dean, but it is a rough track and bridleway and only passable in a 4X4, particularly in wet weather!
The walk to the tower through the deciduous woodland is very pleasant and takes about 20 minutes at a relaxed pace.
The Cranmore Tower is a structure some 150 ft high and was built as a folly about 120 years ago by the local landowners, the Pagett family and commands superb views from its lofty location on the Mendip Hills. To access the two viewing platforms several flights of old wooden stairs have to be climbed but the effort is well worth it!
There is a nice cafe at the base of the tower for refreshments such as teas coffee and cream teas. The day we visited the regular cafe staff were off sick but the owner, a charming gentleman, made us a very refreshing pot of tea! This attraction is well worth a visit but choose a clear, fine day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went there a few weeks ago for a birthday surprise , unfortunately there is a problem with vehicle access , but if you can walk through the woods for ten minutes , it is well worth the effort , not suitable for wheelchairs as the path goes up hill and a bit muddy , the owners are delightful and want to please , will be going again soon . my husband went up the tower and enjoyed it and us ladies sat and took tea !! which was excellent

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Frome
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent find , up a forest track. We had a lovely afternoon tea. The service and quality were very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranmore Tower also viewed

 
Greenham, Wellington
 

Been to Cranmore Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranmore Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.