We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, rather worn room - but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Troy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Troy to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Troy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 Formosa Drive, Troy, IL 62294   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Franklin, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Clean, rather worn room - but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The check-in was great - so friendly! The room was clean, and nice but showing wear - time to redo! A refrigerator and microwave were nice additions. The shower was the best - handy grab bars and great shower head! A standard Holiday Inn breakfast was served.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    7
    10
    7
See reviews for
16
8
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union, Ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Check in was just outstanding with Jamey working the front desk. Jamey was very outgoing and made check in very smooth. There was really no work area in the room just a very small table and two are chairs. One of the chairs was broken and Jamey gave us a armless chair to replace it. Founf the Breakfast buffet to be very short on food. Another guest came to the breakfast bar around 8:45 and the bar was out of hard boiled eggs, hot egges and other items. She asked the hostess if she would be putting out some more food. She brought out some hard boiled aggs but that was it. She informed the guest that she had done all the cooking for the day. I think a trip to Cracker Barrel across the street is the best bet. I was then even surprised to have housekeeping knocking at our door at 9:05am to ask if we had left yet. Checkout time is noon why check at 9am. I have worked as an AGM in hotels and we always checked the rooms that we did not know if the guest had left after the check out time not before. When I was in the hall I noticed that there was 2 people going into the rooms to clean them. One was a woman in uniform and the other not in any type of uniform. What bothered me about this was the one without a uniform had a very big shoulder bag with her. What is to say that she might put something in her bag from a stayover room. Check out in the morning was also outstanding. We can not give enough credit to the front desk staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troy, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear mocpgc,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the front desk staff. On the other hand, let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Due to our past luck with Holiday Inn's, my husband and I decided to stop and get some much needed rest and were happy to find a room vacancy. Even though this particular Holiday Inn is a little dated, that doesn't warrant an excuse for dirty carpets in hallways. I would not say it was the best Holiday Inn we have stayed; it was on the borderline of average. This hotel is worth saving and staff should use more efforts to clean. In my opinion, which this is what a commentary is, I would prefer to stay in a clean "older" hotel versus a "newer" dirty hotel. I hope the quality doesn't slip any more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troy, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear phen t,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience the cleanliness of our hotel may have caused youl. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stopped into the Holiday Inn Express in Troy AL just off the interstate and were pleased that they had room for the evening. Registration went very quickly and the front desk gentleman was very efficient. Room was very clean and relatively quiet even though we were close to the interstate. The was a restaurant right next door so we had everything we needed for the night. Also, with the fresh express breakfast we were quite pleased with the cleanliness and assortment, and we were back on the road for our trip quickly the next morning!

Room Tip: Since this is right off the interstate, request a room on the backside of the building for a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Was woke up at 9:43 a.m by house keeping. When I said something about it to the Manger/ Maybe owner he said that they have people checking in at 3:00 p.m I have always stayed at Holiday Inn Express and have never been treated like that before. Would sleep elsewhere.
Maybe under a dog house. Called Corporate office as I told the guy and he said do what you want. So when I called Corporate they said it would be taken care of since these are Franchise.
I will post this on every review. No respect for a $109.00

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Troy hotels

Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Was in town on business. 1st if you want a quiet hotel, seek another as this hotel is built practically on the interstate. The carpet really needed a steam cleaning, the pillows were warn, and the bed sheets were beyond salvage. The bathroom was clean and the web service was adequate. But if your in the Troy area, there is better choices

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our room was not cleaned. We found a prior guests Easter candy on top of the cabinets, and we were there in May! The lamps shades and wallpaper were stained. The tub had a big gash that had been poorly repaired. The beds were horrible! The carpet was dingy and grimy. We saw a roach at breakfast. Need I say more. I have the photos to prove it and at a price of over $100 a night this is not okay!!!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troy, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Jacqueline B,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Troy

Address: 2020 Formosa Drive, Troy, IL 62294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Troy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated, updated Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Troy, IL. Located only 20 miles East of Downtown St. Louis, MO. Just minutes away from Busch Stadium, Edward Jones Dome and the Savvis Center, Home of the St. Louis Blues. Additionally, we are conveniently located near the Arrow Trucking, Freightliner Truck Center and training facility, as well as the newly constructed offices for Nu-Way. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located at Exit 18 off of Interstate 55/70. With our dedicated and extraordinary staff, we will make your stay with us a time you will never forget. We have sixty-five rooms, fifteen of those rooms are jacuzzi suites. Additional hotel amenities include a complimentary smart start breakfast and free wireless high speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Troy Hotel Troy
Holiday Inn Troy
Troy Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.