We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry's Pancake House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blackberry's Pancake House
9536 179th St, Tinley Park, IL 60487-9602
708-342-1005
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Large portions of good food. A little pricey for breakfast but you get plenty to eat for your money. Everything we had was great!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service, and Manager Back-up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

First time there. Ordered and was 100% disappointed. Food was warm, if that. And There was supposed to be sausage gravy on it, NOTHING. When told about it the waitress looked like a deer in headlights. Left the food there uneaten. When I told the receptionist she apologized and said "Well, we are busy on Sunday mornings. The place was still only about 3/4 filled. Then she said well she (the waitress) is a little young. So you're telling me the food that was just served was luke warm because it's busy, and the waitress is young? All I got was a bunch of apologies and nothing else. Truly disappointed. We will NEVER go there again if this is the way they are. I ate maybe two, three bites and left the rest. BUT she was enthusiastic, and friendly when she told me "That'll be $23.87. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I went on a recent Sunday. Getting there before nine a.m. was a good idea. We had a short wait, about 5 minutes. No wait for the coffee once we were seated, which is key for us. Waitress was business like at first, but then friendlier as the meal went along. I had the French toast sampler - we had seen it featured on an episode of Chicago's Best - it was very good; my husband ordered an omelet, requesting no mushrooms. His omelet was cooked exactly as ordered. The side of bacon was also perfectly cooked. Our food was hot and served quickly. Even though they were quite busy we did not feel rushed. That said we were in and out in just under an hour. Pretty good, in our opinion. Yes, the prices are a bit high for breakfast, but since we do not eat out every week, we do not mind paying as long as the quality is there. It is at this restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, pricey for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Good breakfast items, lunch items are mediocre. Soups are excellent. The waitresses can be a bit sour and non friendly, I guess its just a job to them. I just think their prices are too high for breakfast, their portions are large. Excellent pancakes, crepes and waffles.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Cold food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Have been going here for several years, especially for the French toast. Last time we ordered bacon and eggs with the French toast and when the food came the eggs were cold and the bacon was only slightly warm. Waitress brought more eggs and they were only luke warm, ugh! Will not go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackberry's Pancake House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry's Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.