We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Circle Route

Golden Circle Route
Iceland
Improve this listing
Visit Golden Circle Route like an insider
Top Rated
$72*
and up
Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik
Activities: Driving, Group tours/bus tour, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ideal for short-stay visitors, this scenic driving route through southwestern Iceland features excellent scenery and major sites.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I would recommend to anyone visiting Iceland for 6 days or more to do the full tour of the island. Every region has its own unique look and feel, an absolute must! Though you'll need to be a keen driver, travel times can be quite long.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,800
    563
    99
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
232 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
512 helpful votes 512 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I would say a golden triangle tour is a must do while in Iceland, especially if you’re in Reykjavik. I have great memories of this tour, and of Iceland in general. For all you geologists out there, you will be over-stimulated. For you non-geologists like myself, you’ll be blown away by the beauty and power of nature. Even something as simple as the thick, carpet-like moss that blankets the lava rock becomes a fond memory of this tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great scenery, waterfalls, valleys, Geysirs... you cant ask for more! We went via bus tour which was well organised, informative and didnt feel rushed. Recommended tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A must-do tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose to do this tour with Gateway to Iceland, who we can recommend. They run tours in mini buses. You can book as an individual but they need a min of 4 to make it worthwhile for them. On this occasion there was 6 of us sat comfortably on the bus. Our driver for the day was Oli, a quiet but friendly and obliging guide with an eye for a good photo. Our Golden Circle tour consisted of Thingvellir, Gulfoss and Geysir. There are opportunities for restrooms and food at all of these. Oli also stopped at a safe point on the road above the lake at Thingvellir for excellent views and at another very lovely falls - sadly can't remember the name.

Thingvellir is picturesque and very interesting historically. Geysir - well you've just got to see it for yourself!

If I was doing the day again I would buy a sandwich or take a packed lunch so I'm not wasting time sat indoors.

We liked Gateway to Iceland so much that we did another 3 tours with them.....and these were even better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A great taste of Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very well organised with not too long between stops. The tomato farm was interesting and the tomato soup highly recommended. We went with Reykjavik Excursions who collected us from our hotel promptly and provided a good tour guide.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Circle Route also viewed

Blaskogabyggd, South Region
Thingvellir, South Region
 
Geysir, South Region
 

Been to Golden Circle Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Circle Route, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.