We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Circle Route

Golden Circle Route
Iceland
Improve this listing
Visit Golden Circle Route like an insider
Top Rated
$72*
and up
Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik
Activities: Group tours/bus tour, Driving, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ideal for short-stay visitors, this scenic driving route through southwestern Iceland features excellent scenery and major sites.
central scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We travelled with Reykjavik Excursions, booked via Icelandair and the trip was amazing. So much to see and we didn't feel rushed or that we had spent too long on the bus. It was all timed very well to allow you enough time at each attraction. A great day out and well worth the cost.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,799
    563
    99
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent guide, great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our tour guide, Flosi, was outstanding. He went out of his way to make sure we saw everything, and he took plenty of time to answer questions and to feed us a tremendous amount of Icelandic history. The stops on the tour are incredible, and the glacier climb shouldn't be missed. Flosi made the tour excellent, and I would recommend him and this tour to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a must for every visitor to Iceland! The trip takes about 8 hours, it is worth every minute! Whether you go by car or bus, you will experience some of the remarkable beauty of this country. We hired a smaller bus and received a more personal tour...one with extra stops to view nature and hear history of the area. Truly a grand way to see Iceland when time does not permit a complete tour of the Island!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good tour - Iceland in 8 hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

There were 22 of us on a 3 night 'footballing tour' of Iceland and we wanted to see some of the sights whilst we were there. We did quite a bit of research and decided that the 'Golden Circle' tour fitted the bill. We saw the big 3 - Gulfoss, Geysir and Pingvellir - and they did not disappoint. Probably Pingvellir was the most impressive as it looked like a scene set straight from Lord of the Rings. Better weather (blue skies & sun) would have helped although we were fortunate that it only rained whilst we were on the coach and not whilst we were going around the attractions. We used Reyjkavik Excursions and would recommend them for their professionalism and friendliness. Our pick-ups to/from the airport worked perfectly and the guide for the Golden Circle was good. There was even free wifi on the buses. Emails to them prior to travel were always quickly responded to and payment was easy via credit card.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“OK if you have very little time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Make no mistake, the Golden Circle is a tourist trap. It's pretty interesting if it's the only thing you can see outside Reykjavik, but after a 6-day road trip around the whole country, it was by far the least impressive thing we saw. You'd be better off heading south to Skaftafell or Jokulsarlon, or to the Westfjords.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Circle Route also viewed

Blaskogabyggd, South Region
Thingvellir, South Region
 
Geysir, South Region
 

Been to Golden Circle Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Circle Route, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.