We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sycamore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Sycamore to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Sycamore
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1935 Dekalb Ave, Sycamore, IL 60178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sycamore
Streamwood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We loved this property, very clean. The staff is very nice. The location is good, we would stay here again. This is just like the Holiday Inn Express in Janesville Wisconsin, excellant.The area is very nice and peaceful, we even went to the museum downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Sycamore is a quiet little town close to the University but far enough to enjoy the tranquility of the area. We are glad that you had a good time while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
7
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

People in room beside me were fighting, arguing, and cussing. I called management since my room had a common door. They made 1 call, but the fighting continued and continued. Police were never called. I finally gave up and checked out at 10pm cos the fighting continued to escalate and I felt unsafe. They are billing me for "cleaning" the room that I didn't sleep in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Guest safety is number one to us. We respond to every complaint on the first call we responded and contacted the other room. Guest was alone and on the phone he was apologetic and agreed to quiet down. No other complaints were made. If a quest chooses to check out that is there is right. The hotel must evaluate every situation and how it involves everyone. We felt second guest was sincere in his apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The checkin was fast, the room a typical Holiday Inn Express, the breakfast quite good, and the bed comfortable. We didn't have any problem with noise. Not much else to say except we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts.We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Overall, this hotel is nice. Rooms were clean, people were nice, breakfast was decent, pool was clean. It was just LOUD! We were on the first floor and it sounded like a herd of elephants above us. The walls are very thin too. Even though the A/C was on, the fan kept going off (was not on auto). We always bring a fan with us though - it was definitely needed.

This hotel did have the hottest water though...best hotel shower I have experienced!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad you enjoyed our showers. I apologize about the noise. Please always contact the desk with noise complaints because we are not always aware that there is a problem and we are happy to address your concerns. We do walk the halls and will ask someone to quiet down if they are being loud. We hope that you will still choose us the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this past week. Great location, excellent breakfast. Clean rooms and friendly staff. My only two problems were the beds!! Awful! And The workout room is also very hot and has a fan that blows no air!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are working on resolving the air issue in the fitness room. My staff appreciates your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the NIU campus -- which is exactly what we wanted! It is close to good dining and shopping. The room was great, the service was excellent, and overall a very good value. If my daughter hadn't transferred to another school, I would definitely stay here again and again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed yout stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Even though there were parties going on, it was quiet and a nice place for a weekend. The staff is efficient and very friendly, and the breakfast is to die for! The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the air conditioning was easy to control. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate the kind words. My staff
works hard to take care of our guests and it helps to know that our guest recognize their efforts.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sycamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sycamore

Address: 1935 Dekalb Ave, Sycamore, IL 60178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sycamore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sycamore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sycamore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Sycamore! Our hotel is only 5 minutes from Northern Illinois University and 10 minutes from the Convocation Center. We offer 69 freshly renovated rooms, two of which have 3 queen beds! These rooms are popular with families. All of our suites offer a microwave and refrigerator making them perfect for extended stays. Hauser Ross and Kishwaukee Community Hospital are within one mile of the hotel. We are a short distance from Monsanto, 3M, Target Distribution Center and Engineered Storage Products. We are an hour and 19 minutes from Midway Airport and 1 hour from O'Hare Airport. We are close enough to Chicago for a day trip to the city but far enough away for you to enjoy DeKalb and Sycamore's small town charm.Come try our hot Smart Start Breakfast Bar! Whether you are visiting a family member at N.I.U or preparing for a meeting, you will leave the Holiday Inn Express in Sycamore feeling ready, refreshed and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sycamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sycamore Dekalb Hotel Sycamore
Holiday Inn Sycamore
Sycamore Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.