We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nat's on Maple

Nat's on Maple
112 South Maple Street, Sycamore, IL
815-895-4243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Sycamore
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Sycamore is a very small town with not very many options for dining. Nat's is the finest dining we have and we love it! A real chef!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“planked salmon rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I am a foodie. I usually eat in restaurants east of here as well as downtown Chicago. By far this is one of my favorite Salmon dishes. Desserts are yummy. Didnt care for the pasta...but I am Italian and picky with fairly high expectations. This is my favorite restaurant for Dekalb/Sycamore.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food fabulous beyond fabulous but service terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really enjoyed the food and the menu offered a large variety of selections. We had heard great things about the restaurant. The service the night we went was terrible. There was not even bartender. Our waitress continued to not bring things we asked for. We got our salads before we even got glasses of water.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice comfort food entrees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a nice place for comfort food done in an upscale fashion. Salads have been inconsistent enought that I've stopped ordering them. Atmosphere is nice, usually
quiet except that due to the close quarters, noisy neighbors can sometimes ruin the
atmosphere. We have had the same server that last few times we visited; she never seems
real thrilled about being there to the point you sometimes feel uncomfortable asking for
another drink, etc. If the quality of service and disposition of the server(s) improved this
place would get a higher rating. But....for a small town the size of Sycamore, overall it's a nice place. We will likely continue to dine at Nats.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family was recently in Sycamore and were encouraged to give Nat's a try. A nice place, it was a great place to have a quiet dinner and enjoy a small, local place. We were happy to see that they had pickle chips, so we started with those and then worked our way to the main menu. It was nice to be able to get some "home-style favorites" along with some higher-end fare. The wait staff was knowledgeable and I thought the pricing was good.

While the place was busy, it wasn't overly loud and the staff was very attentive. If we come back through, we will definitely stop by again!

It was interesting to see their wine room - lots of wines and a large reservation-only table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nat's on Maple also viewed

 

Been to Nat's on Maple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nat's on Maple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.