We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fabulous beyond fabulous but service terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nat's on Maple

Nat's on Maple
112 South Maple Street, Sycamore, IL
815-895-4243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 59 Restaurants in Sycamore
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food fabulous beyond fabulous but service terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really enjoyed the food and the menu offered a large variety of selections. We had heard great things about the restaurant. The service the night we went was terrible. There was not even bartender. Our waitress continued to not bring things we asked for. We got our salads before we even got glasses of water.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice comfort food entrees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a nice place for comfort food done in an upscale fashion. Salads have been inconsistent enought that I've stopped ordering them. Atmosphere is nice, usually
quiet except that due to the close quarters, noisy neighbors can sometimes ruin the
atmosphere. We have had the same server that last few times we visited; she never seems
real thrilled about being there to the point you sometimes feel uncomfortable asking for
another drink, etc. If the quality of service and disposition of the server(s) improved this
place would get a higher rating. But....for a small town the size of Sycamore, overall it's a nice place. We will likely continue to dine at Nats.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family was recently in Sycamore and were encouraged to give Nat's a try. A nice place, it was a great place to have a quiet dinner and enjoy a small, local place. We were happy to see that they had pickle chips, so we started with those and then worked our way to the main menu. It was nice to be able to get some "home-style favorites" along with some higher-end fare. The wait staff was knowledgeable and I thought the pricing was good.

While the place was busy, it wasn't overly loud and the staff was very attentive. If we come back through, we will definitely stop by again!

It was interesting to see their wine room - lots of wines and a large reservation-only table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Special night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Although we don't visit as much as we would like, it has always been a fantastic evening. The servic e is the best in the area, the attmosphere is very nice but the end is always the meal and we have never been disappointed. We're sorry we don't think about this place as much as we should. We have invited freinds on a few occations and it has become there favorite dinning in the area. Looking forward to getting back soon

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Intimate Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have been to Nat's several times now, and adore it! The food is excellent, service is generally excellent, and the ONLY complaint I have is that it can feel crowded on a Friday or Saturday night when the restaurant is full. It is a small, intimate restaurant, and doesn't hold a crowd well. We got around this last time by reserving the private room in the back of the restaurant for our larger party, and this worked out perfectly. My favorite dish is the Pot Roast, although I have enjoyed every dish that I have tried there. I highly recommend the snickers tower for dessert-super yummy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nat's on Maple also viewed

 

Been to Nat's on Maple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nat's on Maple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.