We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Johnny's Closed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny's Charhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Johnny's Charhouse
1950 Dekalb Ave, Ste A, Sycamore, IL
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cortland, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Johnny's Closed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I drove by today and saw that the signs are gone -- even off the sides of the building -- and the doors are boarded up! Does anyone know what happened?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What's with the picture?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It is true that a driver put their car right through the entrance area but the owners had it patched up in no time. The food is way over priced and there have been some instances of accused false advertizing. I also question cleanliness.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVE their filet-as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Their saginaki with shrimp is SO delicious and a perfect appetizer for two people. Love their unique bread, salad, and their mashed potatoes. Their tuxedo cake is yummy too. Never a bad experience, wait staff friendly too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was very good and well prepared. Portions were large. My teenage daughters each ordered a fettucine alfredo and there was so much food neither good finish. They probably could have shared one entree. Soft drinks were very expensive, so watch out if you order them. Quick service, even on a Friday evening.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Meal and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food is very good, as is the service. Steaks are excellent, as is the seafood, but we come here primarily for the steaks. We always enjoy a nice steak dinner and glass of wine here. Our server was excellent and was very helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Charhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny's Charhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.