We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emma's on Liberty Veg Cuisine

Emma's on Liberty Veg Cuisine
59 Liberty St, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
(02) 9550 3458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 45 Restaurants in Enmore
Cuisines: Lebanese, Vegetarian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sydney
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Lovely Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We walked past this restaurant many times before venturing in one night. Wow - what a great find. Special note is the traditional hummus & the Moorish Chicken - both wickedly delicious. Make sure you take your own wine as their list is very limited. A bit crowded & cramped. But all this is forgiven by friendly staff and great food. We've been back a few ties now - the best compliment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    16
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“More than enough food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We've lived around the corner from Emma's for a couple of years and have always said we'll get there one day! Well that day was last Tuesday and it was well worth the wait! Even for a "school night" the place was almost full, even the rain didn't keep people away.

The service was fantastic and the food was beautiful. We both decided on the banquet as we wanted to experience the varieties of food available. I have to say the food just didn't stop coming out......there was so much of it for 2 people. We definitely shouldn't have had as much bread and olive oil for starters, we had to take home a doggie bag (which was just as nice for lunch the next day).

I'd have to say my favourite was the Moorish Chicken with the Lady Fingers running a close second.

It definitely won't be years until we go back, I reckon we have found a new favourite in Enmore!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good Lebanese meat and fish (not veg only!!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I went there with some friends the first time and then went back twice lately, so I tried pretty much the whole menu.
The good thing is that everything comes in small portions, but big enough to be shared by 4 people, so you can experience a lot of different things.
I love the food, the bread, the desserts, the service, and I think it's a good-value choice.
My favorites are the eggplant, shawarna, the spiced fish with tahini, the baklawa and the chocolate dessert.
The negative for me is how noisy it gets when it's busy: it's one of those places where you're better off tipsy and in a large group, or you won't be able to talk to the people in front of you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I was looking forward to the baba ghanoush, hummus and fried cauliflower! I got all of that and more. The food was amazing and the customer service was unnoticeable meaning we never had to call for it, the hosts were always around making sure the food was flowing. This is a great place for a big group of people to share and enjoy some great food and times.
PS: it is loud and we went on a Saturday night, so if you are looking for a romantic place, this is probably not the best choice as the place does get quiet loud and it has no views as it is in a residential area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is a popular restaurant and you best book ahead. It's cosy but comfortable and the food - although not big on my list - is always good. It's more a place I go because friends want to try it - has a good reputation with locals and visitors

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's on Liberty Veg Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Emma's on Liberty Veg Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma's on Liberty Veg Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.