We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved the whole experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sultans Table

The Sultans Table
179 Enmore Rd,, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 9557 0229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Enmore
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just loved the whole experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant was recommend to us by friends and it lived up to their description. We went on a busy Saturday night but we have a booking which was good as the place was full, not only with eat in diners but serving takeaway as well. All the staff were courteous and efficient, we didn't have to wait for anything. The place is BYO, but they don't charge corkage, so they gave us a corkscrew and left us to open our own bottle of wine, which was great, I'd much rather do this then pay for someone to do it for me. The food was superb, we had the mixed dips for entree then the lamb and the chicken shish kebab. It was delicious, we were so full when we left. The Turkish coffee was great too. There were so many delicious looking dishes on the menu, will have to return again and again to try them all out. It was very inexpensive, too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly service but underwhelming food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We passed this restaurant on a saturday evening and saw people spilt out into the street with lovely looking food, so we went for a Monday lunch. The food garden was inviting in the sun and the service quick and friendly but, let's be clear, the food was not top notch. The mezze was not a mezze, it as a selection of dips. Whilst the beetroot and carrot dips were interesting, the humous and babaganoush were thin and bland. It's cheap and cheerful, but there are surely better food options in wonderful Newtown.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great bustling atmosphere, friendly service and superb food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited here twice in the same week as my partner had raved about the amazing food and service. The dip platter to start is wonderful, with warm bread and a huge assortment of homemade dips - the beetroot was a huge hit! We also ordered the mushroom and cheese pide which was a very big serving and delicious. For mains we shared a meat platter featuring the most tender lamb, chicken and beef, accompanied by flat bread and a very fresh salad.

Special thanks to Volkan for being such a wonderful waiter! We will definitely return. Definitely recommend for family or group gatherings as the dishes are great for sharing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

WOW, it's all very good. The bread, the dips, the meat and the price. It's one of those no frills type settings but the food is so very, very good. WOW!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Turkish in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have eaten here several times a have not been let down. Though it looks like a simple take away joint the back dining area is surprisingly comfortable. The food is well cooked Turkish staples such as pides and BBQ meats.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sultans Table also viewed

 

Been to The Sultans Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sultans Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.