We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Memorable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TARA Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added TARA Guest House to your Saves list
TARA Guest House
13 Edgeware Road, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Transfers
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Victoria, B.C., Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Memorable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and travelled to Sydney at the beginning of March in order to get onto a cruise ship for a cruise of the South Pacific. We spent one week in Sydney prior to getting onto the ship. Four nights were spent at Tara with Brom and Julian. We picked this B & B based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Brom picked us up at the airport just as promised. Our flight from North America arrived in Sydney at 9:30 AM, yet when we got to the B & B our room was already prepped for us. Brom and Julian allowed us to get settled then Brom provided an excellent map of Sydney and many suggestions of what we could do. The B & B is located in a very vibrant area of Sydney with many good restaurants nearby. Yes, it is close to the airport and busy roads, but this is a big city. Noise was never an issue for either myself or my wife. The highlight of each day was the wonderful breakfast served each day, but even more fun was sitting around the breakfast table each morning getting to know guests from different parts of the world, discussing various travel experiences and discussing interesting things to do and see in the Sydney area. While there we met another couple who live a few hours south of Sydney and come into Sydney on a regular basis to go to music concerts. They always stay at Tara. This was something like their 6th time here. This speaks volumes about the welcoming atmosphere provided by Brom and Julian. The house is a wonderful old classic being lovingly restored by Brom and Julian. The rooms are large and comfortable. At the end of our 4 nights we moved down to Circular Quay to meet up with friends who we would be cruising with. Julian happily drove us downtown to the hotel where we were sheduled to meet up with our friends. If you want to wake up to the sounds of birds and animals don't stay here, but if you want to stay at a B & B with fantastic hosts in a terrific location in the big city of Sydney then stay at Tara Guest House. I promise, you will not be disappointed. My wife and I will be back to Sydney and when we do we will stay at Tara. Thank you Brom and Julian for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: If you think road noise will bother you ask for one of the rooms at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    19
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
147
46
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a 6 people group with parents and stayed here for 2 nights. All the details are quite beautiful, considerate and friendly. The rooms upstairs are fantastic! Breakfast should be NO.1 here.

Julian and Brom are such nice people. We love them! You can play ball with Oscar (the cutest dog here) the morning after the very generous breakfast in the backyard. Or, have a cup of tea with Julian and Brom using their vintage Chinese teapot. They both have very good taste on decoration, culture and arts. I like the setting of their office/library and sculptures, paintings all over the room.

Anyway, all good! will stay next time in SYD.

Room Tip: I tried the 2 rooms upstairs and they all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

There's more to this B&B than fabulous breakfasts and huge, beautifully considered rooms-the main attraction are the hosts..Julian and Brom were fantastic hosts, sensitive to each guests requirements, providing tailored accurate information, insiders top-tips for sydney and great fun.
Can highly recommend, as a solo travellor. If you're looking for sterile, faceless, dull corporate accomodation, book elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Julian and Brom provide excellent service and wonderful group breakfasts at their TARA B&B in Sidney. Brom will pick you up and return you to the airport, and they are located on a bus line that goes straight downtown to the Circular Quay.

We stayed three nites. We spent one day roaming in downtown Sidney, touring the Opera House, and riding on the ferries. We spent our second day a the zoo, which included a ferry ride and gondola ride. The zoo is excellent and the free-flight bird show is fantastic!

we ate at small restaurants just a block or two from TARA each nite and we also had great ice cream at the nearby Cow and Moon (?) ice cream parlor.

One note - although it did not bother me, TARA is right on the flight path to the airport. However, the planes do quiet down from about 10:30 at nite until 6:30 in the morning.

Room Tip: Choose the Gallery Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

It's a big old house with a lot of character and the hosts are keen to please. A little too keen for some, as eating breakfast with other guests at fixed times (9.00 am on weekends) is almost compulsory. You will hear about all the fascinating previous guests while eating a top-class breakfast, one of the best you will find.
The house is situated on a busy road and there is no insulation (such as double glazing) so at night there is constant noise from traffic and passing revellers. At times the road noise is drowned out by that of aircraft passing overhead. It's under a flight path. Light sleepers beware. The rear rooms have less street noise but there is no escaping the planes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian r, Owner at TARA Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Clive is to be thanked for noting the positives of his experience along with his concerns.


We apologise for apparently overwhelming with our enthusiasm but stand by our practice of serving breakfast at a communal table along country house lines – we were surprised at the expressed reluctance to engage and share in this joyous daily celebration as it is perhaps the most enjoyable part of our day and indeed one of the main reasons we continue running the house. We welcome the opportunity to reiterate to potential future guests that this is what to expect and we are rather committed to it – it should also be said that the overwhelming majority of our guests have expressed their enthusiasm for this kind of pleasant interaction at breakfast.


We have acknowledged previously that our proximity to the city brings with it an inevitable degree of noise but we do feel that this review rather distorts the situation.


It simply must be stated that there is a curfew for all flights in and out of Sydney Airport between 11.00 pm and 6.00 am – in the evenings, there is absolutely no plane noise at all between these times. While we are actually over kilometre away from the actual flight path, there is plane noise at other times, which, as noted by Clive, often melds with the general traffic noise of Australia’s biggest city.


Clive is fortunate to come from the much quieter Canberra where there are far fewer passing revellers than in uber urban Newtown/Enmore and the contrast must seem great indeed.


For some time we have been looking at a number of solutions towards limiting noise for the comfort of our guests. Prompted by this review, we consulted our friend Michael Mobbs, our sustainability consultant, who not only identifies problems but finds solutions to them. He has advised us of a sound reducing and temperature adjusting film which is effective, affordable and can be affixed to all of our glazed surfaces. We are in the middle of comparing 2 similar products with a view to having the process completed in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked the first 3 nights of our honeymoon at Tara after reading all the reviews on this site. We had never traveled so far from home, never stayed at a bed and breakfast- so it was a lot to take it!

From the moment we were picked up at the air port, I felt welcome. Julian and Brom treated us like we were family! After flying from the US, we got to the house just in time for breakfast. After having the first of many delicious, HUGE meals, we were given maps and an orientation of the city. It was fantastic! The map was highlighted and she told us how and where and which transportation pass we should get based on our stay.

Just like many of the other reviewers, we didn't even have to worry about lunch! Each morning we ate so much that we didn't feel the need to eat again until dinner. Even after walking around the city all day!

I loved the district the house is located. So many great places to visit and eat at. Super easy to get to downtown as well.

Breakfast each morning was MORE then enough. Everything was so fresh! My husband is still trying to find a cereal to match what he ate there to something here in the US. The other guests were fantastic as well. We chatted with couples from Germany, Finland, and Sweden. It was great to hear what others had done and what their plans for the day were.

If/when we go back to Sydney, Tara Guest House will be our first choice for lodging for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Tara Guest House in Sydney for 3 nights in March, culminating a multi-week trip to Australia. This was the most memorable of all the places we stayed, mostly because the hosts are so warm and delightful. Their home is uniquely welcoming and yes, they create fantastic breakfasts. Julian and Brom are personable, great conversationalists, and highly competent as B&B hosts. They create a community each and every morning around their breakfast table. Their breakfasts are generous and comprise a wonderful mix of thoughtfully prepared dishes. Tara is full of character. The building is old and nearly every wall is tastefully adorned with thought-provoking art. The sleeping rooms are large and comfortably appointed; the bathrooms are modern and gorgeous. Tara is located a block or so from a very vibrant, non-plastic neighborhood, complete with a variety of ethnic restaurants and a well-known theater. Some describe the neighborhood as "gritty;" I felt completely safe walking around there after dark. It's an easy bus ride to the city and the Circular Quay; Brom offers a wealth of information about how to get around Sydney. Tara Guest House may not be the place for you if you're seeking a high-end big hotel experience, but staying there is the epitome of excellence in B&B experiences.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Address: 13 Edgeware Road, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your TARA Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TARA Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.