We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at a B&B and it was AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TARA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TARA Guest House
Save
You added TARA Guest House to your Saves list
13 Edgeware Road, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE TRANSFERS
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First time at a B&B and it was AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked the first 3 nights of our honeymoon at Tara after reading all the reviews on this site. We had never traveled so far from home, never stayed at a bed and breakfast- so it was a lot to take it!

From the moment we were picked up at the air port, I felt welcome. Julian and Brom treated us like we were family! After flying from the US, we got to the house just in time for breakfast. After having the first of many delicious, HUGE meals, we were given maps and an orientation of the city. It was fantastic! The map was highlighted and she told us how and where and which transportation pass we should get based on our stay.

Just like many of the other reviewers, we didn't even have to worry about lunch! Each morning we ate so much that we didn't feel the need to eat again until dinner. Even after walking around the city all day!

I loved the district the house is located. So many great places to visit and eat at. Super easy to get to downtown as well.

Breakfast each morning was MORE then enough. Everything was so fresh! My husband is still trying to find a cereal to match what he ate there to something here in the US. The other guests were fantastic as well. We chatted with couples from Germany, Finland, and Sweden. It was great to hear what others had done and what their plans for the day were.

If/when we go back to Sydney, Tara Guest House will be our first choice for lodging for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    22
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
156
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Tara Guest House in Sydney for 3 nights in March, culminating a multi-week trip to Australia. This was the most memorable of all the places we stayed, mostly because the hosts are so warm and delightful. Their home is uniquely welcoming and yes, they create fantastic breakfasts. Julian and Brom are personable, great conversationalists, and highly competent as B&B hosts. They create a community each and every morning around their breakfast table. Their breakfasts are generous and comprise a wonderful mix of thoughtfully prepared dishes. Tara is full of character. The building is old and nearly every wall is tastefully adorned with thought-provoking art. The sleeping rooms are large and comfortably appointed; the bathrooms are modern and gorgeous. Tara is located a block or so from a very vibrant, non-plastic neighborhood, complete with a variety of ethnic restaurants and a well-known theater. Some describe the neighborhood as "gritty;" I felt completely safe walking around there after dark. It's an easy bus ride to the city and the Circular Quay; Brom offers a wealth of information about how to get around Sydney. Tara Guest House may not be the place for you if you're seeking a high-end big hotel experience, but staying there is the epitome of excellence in B&B experiences.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I spent my last night in Sydney at Tara Guest House. What a way to end a magical visit to Australia. What a beautiful space with gorgeous art throughout. Every room seems to have its special touches and I realized the minute that I walked through the entrance that I was going to be given a special parting evening and morning. How lucky I was to take in such lovely art throughout and how could a foodie resist the amazing breakfast spread out before me the next morning. The hosts Julian and Brom help with everything, even suggesting shopping routes and restaurant recommendations. I was alone, but sheltered magnificently and included by the hosts energetic help. They love their home, their beautiful collections and their family members, of which I was a part, if only momentarily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I included Tara in my recent Sydney itinerary based on the Trip Advisor reviews and having spent three nights there as a solo traveller, am already planning a return trip with a friend later in the year.
The guest house is in a glorious old building, located a short bus or train trip from the city and Circular Quay and surrounded by eclectic shops and varied, inexpensive restaurants and cafes.
The generosity of spirit shown by hosts Julian and Brom is reflected in the astounding breakfasts, the ingredients for which are chosen with an eye for quality produce and prepared with the same attention to detail and their genuine interest in those sharing their lovely home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our recent holiday started in Sydney and we couldn't have asked for a better start to our trip. As B&B owners (Canada) it is always a bit difficult to accept what is being offered without being to critical or over judging, but I have to say, that Julian and Brom, and their lovely B&B, turned out to be just right for us, as we could relax and enjoy everything , that was offered. Their breakfast was second to none and the time spend with Julian and Brom and all the other guests were most enjoyable. being in a strange big city became a lot easier to take as we felt "anchored" by our new "home". One outstanding bit of service was a ride by Julian to a downtown hotel where we had to stay one night and a subsequent pick up by him the next day to the Tara House. The airport pick up by Brom and delivery by Julian were also much appreciated. Great memories all around. We wish them alla the success in the world and thank them for everything

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Both Julian and Brom are wonderful hosts who made us feel extremely welcome during our stay. Not only were we picked up but Julian very kindly made a quick stop for us at this museum and insisted that we entered to take a quick glance. Tara is filled with art pieces which add a beautiful touch to the guest house. The breakfast served is AMAZING. From eggs ben to sauteed mushrooms to freshly squeezed juice, the breakfast menu was endless. We could not stomach lunch after breakfast but no one's complaining.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hosts Julian and Brom welcomed us into their beautiful old home and were a big part of making our recent trip to Sydney wonderful. Yes it's well located; the airport transfers are fantastic (and Julian even dropped me at a meeting as I'd got my times mixed up); the house and gardens are full of art and beautiful furniture, books and curios; the breakfast is a feast to behold - truly second to none! But beyond all these attributes the hosts' warmth and generosity of spirit set the whole experience apart, from sharing tales of their considerable adventures over a glass of wine in the garden, precious old books from their library, and generally creating a convivial environment. Thanks so much Julian and Brom -Tara will definitely be our preferred place to stay in Sydney in future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Address: 13 Edgeware Road, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TARA Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.