We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guest house with charming hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TARA Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added TARA Guest House to your Saves list
TARA Guest House
13 Edgeware Road, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Transfers
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful guest house with charming hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Tara Guest House is very special. I have been traveling backwards and forwards between Melbourne and Sydney pretty much monthly for three years. During this time I have tried many different hotels, from swanky five star to small boutique, with the odd guest house thrown in, never quite finding the perfect place to relax and unwind after long working days. Until now.

Tara Guest House is everything the owners and hosts Julian & Brom themselves are - warm, welcoming, stylish and understated. The rooms are comfortable, elegant and airy with original timber floors and interesting contemporary pieces of art and the hosts are an absolute delight.

Not only is breakfast a monumental feast, Julian and Brom worked around my tricky no gluten, dairy & egg dietary needs without breaking their stride. Simply the best sausages I have ever eaten in Australia, not to mention buckwheat pancakes and a mountain of fresh fruit and irresistible yum cha hand made locally.

Tara Guest House is now my Sydney home-from-home and I cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    20
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
147
46
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zoutleeuw, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Tara Guest House is a true bed & breakfast. It feels more like staying at a friend's place then in a hotel. The bed part is wonderfull. Rooms are very spacy and cozy, just like the pictures on their site. But the breakfast part is the real attraction, this just could not get any better! Fresh (real) coffee and fresh orange juice, pancakes, dumplings, eggs any style, you name it, Julian can make it like noone else.

Just 2 things you need to consider. First, this is quite a social place. Julian and Brom are great people to get to know. Breakfast is organised at an agreed hour so all guests can enjoy it together. You will find yourself spending more time for breakfast than planned, because it's so good and it just keeps coming, and because you're socialising.

Another thing to consider is the location. It is easy to get to the touristic centre, but it is quite a busride (25 mins or so). So if for instance you want to change for the evening and go back to the centre, it will take you some time. The good part however is that this place is located in a great district with lots of restaurants. We went one night to a restaurant recommended by Julian and Brom, and we had a fantastic dinner. As a tourist, you would probably not get to know this district if not staying here.

So if you are short on time and just want an inpersonal and efficient place to stay, probably better to stay more in the touristic centre. But if you have more time, and please plan enough time because Sydney is just a great city, Tara Guest House is an absolute bonus I would recommend to anyone.

And one last thing, we got transportation from and to the airport, which is great. You can rest assured that Julian will get you there right on time even in heavy traffic, but for a little more peace of mind, maybe better to leave 15 mins earlier then Julian proposes ;)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

TARA: Good Food & Company
=======================

After a long train ride from Newcastle on the retro InterCity trains, I was really grateful to see Julian at Sydney Central, despite our really late arrival. Thanks for picking us up and introducing us to charming King's St on the way to TARA. I really enjoyed listening to Julian's extensive travel stories, as if I had been packed into his suitcase and traveled along too.

TARA Guest House is located near the charismatic Enmore Road and King's St, filled with cafes, ice cream parlors, Asian food, interesting bookshops, with streets kept alive by the students from the University of Sydney nearby. And not forgetting Cow & The Moon, Australia's best gelato is on Enmore Road just a stone throw from TARA. Their pistachio gelato and salted-caramel-macadamia flavours are heavenly (I read that the SMH agrees with me on the pistachio one!).

We had the room with the telescope and the upper-front one, both were roomy, cosy and tastefully decorated. I really liked the telescope room, and couldn't help running to the windows each time an aircraft flies past, guessing the airline and listening to their purring engines. Geeky.

Shared bathroom wasn't a problem for us, since my family had 2 rooms and we were sharing the same bathroom. The free WiFi is a plus, helps in last minute trip plannings and checking schedules. Although Victorian houses were designed to utilise the wind, but it still does get a little warm on humid summer nights.

Breakfast: the sweetest fruits, juicy homemade prunes by Brom, the fresh salmon, juicy sausages, awesome dim sum and pan sticks, delicious pancakes, and the lovely fruit bread with Ricotta cheese and Kangaroo Island honey, paired up with the freshest orange juice and aromatic coffee, it's a heavenly breakfast. I dreamt of breakfast every night. And did I mention Brom has a wonderful memory, she makes it a point to remember every guests' names and how they like their coffee or tea. Breakfast is like a family gathering, where we met other guests, shared our stories (and Julian's and Brom's too).

Brom knows Sydney inside out. She can point you to all the sights and sounds and best kept secrets all around. Armed with her map, tips and tricks with the local buses, exploring Sydney could not have been easier.

It is the perfect place to end our family vacation, and TARA keeps me wanting to return to Sydney for many more days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We wanted to begin our Australian trip in Sydney staying at somewhere 'interesting' and Tara certainly fitted the bill. The sight of Julian and his green jeep at the airport after a gruelling 23 hour flight was most welcome. The warm welcome continued on arrival at the house and continued throughout our 5 day stay. Brom and Julian guided us through the intricacies of travel around Sydney with aplomb. Add to that the legendary breakfasts (which left my weight-loss plan in tatters), huge rooms with comfortable bedding, convenient location for travel to town and you have the recipe for the (almost) perfect stay. The only downside was traffic noise in the room. This was not a problem for us but may deter others who demand absolute perfection.

In summary this was the ideal start for our holiday and without any experience of other houses, I feel it would be difficult to improve on Tara

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent the first two nights and the last two of a three week tour between Sydney and Brisbane, and couldn't have chosen a more comfortable and welcoming place to stay.
I can only second all the positive comments other travellers have made, but also add that as a bit of a dietary 'pain-in-the-neck', I was treated to the same glorious breakfasts as all the less difficult guests - including home-made wheat-free pancakes and potato fritters. Brom and Julian make all their hard work look so easy, and are the most perfect hosts! Thank you to both. If we're back in Sydney, we'll be in touch!

Room Tip: The ground floor suite (adjoining bedroom, and sitting room with sofa bed) is spacious and airy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed there for three nights. I really don't think we could have found a better place. Julian and Brom were unbelievably friendly and incredibly helpful. We really did feel like a part of their family instead of just travelers. The breakfast was amazing and was definitely food that I would have been happy to have in a restaurant. We are really hoping we can get another chance to visit Sydney

Ryan and Vera

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed 4 nights with Brom and Julian and totally enjoyed the cozy rooms and the really delicious breakfast. The pick-up from the airport immediately let us feel at home. Whatever you want to know about places to go they can give you the best advices. We cannot imagine a better place to stay in Sydney.
Daniela & Sebastian

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Address: 13 Edgeware Road, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your TARA Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TARA Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.