We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious casa away from the tourist bubble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pedrito Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Marta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pedrito Hostal
Save
You added Pedrito Hostal to your Saves list
3ra Oeste #106, Entre 12 y 13, Santa Marta, Varadero 42200, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Luxurious casa away from the tourist bubble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

At 30 cuc a night this isnt the cheapest, but you still get great value, particularly for this area. The rooms are amazing and beat hotel standards. All of the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

Situated in santa marta it is about 3 or 4km away from varadero town and beach. When arriving you shouldnt pay more than 5 for a taxi. Being here you still feel like you are in cuba and not surrounded by tourist tat. There are some very nice and cheap 2 or 3 cuc restaurants down the road and also good value at the hostel.

There is a free ride to any spot of beach in the morning and then it is easy to find your way back walking or hop on any local bus for 1 peso national money.

We had a great time here, thank you!

I would advise booking ahead for sure

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
67
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Pedrito Hostal in Cuba. The house is very well cared. Our room was perfect and the food was fantastic!!!! The family is very nice and welcomed us with a smile and served us good breakfast at our preferred time. They gave us suggestions of things to do, places to visit in Varadero and nice restaurants. I will return safely the next year!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constance Bay, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wow! I really didn't think things could get any better than the already 'perfect' high standards of Hostal Pedrito but, somehow, Pedro managed just that! I've been back twice since my wedding there in January 2013 and each visit was better than the last! I don't know how Pedro does it! Everything and everywhere are immaculate - as always! This is, to the best of my knowledge, one of the only, if not the only, casa particulars that has toilet seats for the toilets (it may not seem like much - but to me it is a deal breaker)! The food was somehow better and more varied! The prices for food and drink are rock bottom - an incredible value. It would be a HUGE mistake to confuse 'low cost' with 'low expectations'. Hostal Pedrito may offer low costs on lodging, food, and other amenities, but you can expect the HIGHEST standards of any five-star hotel. Pedro, his wife Nidia, his sister and her son, Alain, and Alain's wife Daylin, not to mention the kids - Aitana, Ciera, and little Diego - will make your stay a memorable one and will keep you going back. I think I'm up to 6 stays now! If I go 10 times do I get the 11th one free?!! Hasta pronto! Jojo

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate. Room 1 is the largest, with a small kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pedrito's casa particular is in Santa Marta which is just east of the Varadero peninsula. If you want to escape the big touristy package-holiday crowds, then this is a great location, especially if you have a rental car as the peninsula is only a 5-10 minute drive.

The casa itself is lovely. Lots of outside veranda spaces to relax, and the welcome cocktail was very much appreciated on our arrival! The rooms are clean and relatively spacious. I stayed in room 1 which was comfortable and large, with a small kitchenette, but consequently it did mean that the air con wasn't as effective as in our friend's smaller room.

The best thing about this casa by far was the wonderful staff. They were 100% helpful and amenable. Alain (Pedrito's nephew) gave us loads of advice and the other ladies (sorry I don't know their names!) were really willing to adapt the menu to our specific requirements. They also quickly adapted the rooms so that we could have two twin rooms. They were superb hosts!

This is a great value location and I highly recommend it staying at Pedrito's!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really had a great time at this hostel, Pedro is one of the nicest and most generous people we got to know in Cuba, nothig can cause a problem, he'll figure you out everything. He knows everything about the region and you can rent bikes at his place which is lovely. The rooms are really really clean and modern, above standard in Cuba and his wife and daughter-in-law are amazing cooks. You really should try the Pina Colada there, the best i had in Cuba! The inner courtyard is beautiful with a nice mangotree and a lot of space to sit and hang out. We loved the street next to the house because it was so typical cuban with a lot of cuban "takeaways" and cuban people and not that touristic like the rest of Varadero.
So if you go to Varadero, you should stay here, it's a lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very welcoming and offering a very good service, Pedrito and family were very nice and helpful from the beginning to the end. We just came back from Cuba and this was the best casa particular we stayed in, it was like to stay in a hotel and in a family at the same time! Many Thanks Pedrito and family!!!! Tiziana

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in the Casa Pedrito for the first and last few days of our two week stay in Cuba. The cosiness of the casa made it a perfect place to start and end our trip in trip in Cuba as we felt safe, extremely comfortable and at home with our hosts. Pedrito and his family, particularly the women were incredibly warm and welcoming and made us feel very much at home (despite our language barrier). The rooms are great, spacious, clean and with nice bathrooms all opening onto a terrace which doubles as the family run restaurant and place to relax in a rocking chair sipping a pinacolada (which in my opinion were the tastiest we had during our entire stay in Cuba!). This casa has a very professional standard. While the Casa is not directly on the beach we found this to be a positive as it meant that we were removed from the 'resort' culture that lines the main beach and actually in real Cuba- the beach was still an easy walk away (and Pedrito or his nephew are happy to drive any guests to the beach).
This was our favourite Casa Particular in Cuba and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing stay amongst friendly hosts who treat you not as clients but family guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pedrito Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedrito Hostal

Address: 3ra Oeste #106, Entre 12 y 13, Santa Marta, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shopping ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedrito Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.